Author Topic: Arduino  (Read 1701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline geek1Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Helpful? 0
Arduino
« on: December 27, 2008, 12:30:29 PM »
due to cost issues, I have selcted the Arduino Duemilanove instead of the Roboduino. My question is as follows: if I were to attempt to control a servo using the Arduino, would I need a servo controller? ???
New roboticist and lovin it ;D ;D ;D

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Arduino
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2008, 02:19:08 PM »
No. You just take the power (+ve & -ve) from your battery (as long as it's not over 6v). You take the signal (White or Yellow) from the arduino.
AIRMAN00's Roboduino just saves you from making a power bus for the various bits and pieces you connect to the arduino.
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Arduino
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 02:42:46 PM »
If you want to use a shield you would need to buy this - http://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=17_21&products_id=51 .

Without buying anything , you would have a messy wire situation when there is more than one servo  doing the thing that want2learn said.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline geek1Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Arduino
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 04:46:33 PM »
could you tell me how to connect the shield to the Arduino?
New roboticist and lovin it ;D ;D ;D

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Arduino
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2008, 05:11:16 PM »
It just plugs in right on top.

Funny how if you buy the sheild, youll end up paying more than the cost of a roboduino  :o

 


Get Your Ad Here