Author Topic: Roboduino Connection  (Read 5114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Roboduino Connection
« on: December 31, 2008, 02:28:47 PM »
Okay I just recieved my Roboduino. I am trying to upload a hex file to to modify my servos I am using AVR to Program it.  But when I plug it in it doesn't recognize it or finds the software.  So I go to my control panel to find where it is located and it is in other devices it is not under any com.  Any help on how to fix this.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 05:28:03 PM »
I dont really understand whats happening but anyways

You install Arduino software
Open Arduino software
Connect thru USB
Program it

also , is your microcontroller plugged into the socket the correct way?

EDIT: Also need to install drivers - use the same drivers on the Arduino site
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 05:37:56 PM by airman00 »
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2008, 05:55:25 PM »
yes the microcontroller is plugged in the right

I am going to the Arduino site and am going to read through all of the stuff  hopefully it will help me understand it.

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2008, 06:13:56 PM »
Unplug Roboduino.
Delete old driver from Other Devices.
Plug in the Roboduino.
When it asks to search the internet for a driver, select Not at this time.
Select Install from a list...
Select Don't search, I will choose...
Browse to the Arduino folder, Drivers, USB...
Click on Continue Anyway when the driver starts to install...

After it is done, go to Arduino, Tools, Board, Arduino Decimilla, then to Serial port, COM3 (or COM4). Then you can upload the sketch.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2008, 06:23:36 PM »
thanks Ro-Bot-X

also I think if I remember it correctly you was the one that said in another post that you could hook it up and use the AVR and hook it up to the stk500 then it would program it to the Roboduino I am pretty sure it was something like this.  I am now searching the forums to find find exactly what you said.

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2008, 07:14:07 PM »
Okay I got it where my computer now recognizes the Roboduino. I also learned that that the hold_hex file for the modification of a servo that I got for the fifty dollar robot wont work because it only uses pde.  So does someone have the hold file in pde. that I can look at and learn how it works and use it?

Thanks

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2008, 07:21:31 PM »
Here is a quote from the Programmers.txt file in Arduino/hardware folder:
Quote
avrisp.name=AVR ISP
avrisp.communication=serial
avrisp.protocol=stk500

avrispmkii.name=AVRISP mkII
avrispmkii.communication=usb
avrispmkii.protocol=stk500v2

usbtinyisp.name=USBtinyISP
usbtinyisp.protocol=usbtiny

parallel.name=Parallel Programmer
parallel.protocol=dapa
parallel.force=true

This quote is from Boards.txt:
Quote
diecimila.name=Arduino Diecimila

diecimila.upload.protocol=stk500
diecimila.upload.maximum_size=14336
diecimila.upload.speed=19200

As you can see, to upload sketches to the diecimilla board (same as Roboduino) they are using STK500 protocol, same as for the AVR ISP programmer. If you want I can check the command line that the software uses to actually upload the sketches.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2008, 07:26:17 PM »
as you can tell I am completely new and I have learned more in the last week from this website than in the last year in school.  I now understand where you got STK 500 Protcol now,  but again with the program used to modify a servo.  Will the example on the Arduino website work or is it something totally different?

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2008, 07:37:00 PM »
Here is the code to hold the servo at middle:

Quote
#define Servo 5  // digital pin 5, PWM pin

void setup() {
 
  pinMode(Servo, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(Servo, LOW);
}

void loop(){
  digitalWrite(Servo, HIGH);           
  delayMicroseconds(1500);       
  digitalWrite(Servo, LOW);   
  delayMicroseconds(8500);       
}

Copy it into a new sketch and upload. You can modify the define to match the pin where you are connecting your servo.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 07:38:44 PM by Ro-Bot-X »
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2008, 07:44:19 PM »
okay getting everything ready to try it. But what do you mean by You can modify the define to match the pin where you are connecting your servo. ???

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2008, 07:55:18 PM »
i am having extremely bad luck I copied it to the arduino program and went to verify and compile.  Then I got a message saying compile error.  Here is a picture.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2008, 07:55:25 PM »
okay getting everything ready to try it. But what do you mean by You can modify the define to match the pin where you are connecting your servo. ???

Code: [Select]
#define Servo 5  // digital pin 5, PWM pin That code sets up a nickname for digitial pin 5. Instead of using 5 in the code ,we can use 5's nickname - servo.

Lets say you want to nickname digital pin 10 ( or any of the other PWM pins) as the nickname Servo
you would do
Code: [Select]
#define Servo 10  // digital pin 10, PWM pin
Nicknames are good so that way in the code you can see whats happening, and see the word Servo instead of 5.
Quote
  digitalWrite(Servo, HIGH);           
  delayMicroseconds(1500);       
  digitalWrite(Servo, LOW);   
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2008, 07:57:12 PM »
okay I understand that part :D

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #13 on: December 31, 2008, 08:00:34 PM »
The #define Servo 5 line is actually an alias for we set for the digital pin 5. Instead of using pin numbers in the code it is easier to understand if we use a word like Servo. For more than one servo, LeftServo, RightServo, HeadServo are good alias names. So, if you connect the your servo to a different digital pin on your Roboduino, change the number in the define line accordingly.

Here is another sample that will do exactly the same thing, but it uses hardware PWM and the library ServoTimeTimer1. You need to connect the servo to the digital pin 9.
Quote
//Example code for using ServoTimeTimer1 library
// hardware control of up to two servos, on Arduino pins 9 & 10

#include <ServoTimeTimer1.h>

#define servoPin1 9

ServoTimeTimer1 servo1;

void setup()
{
  servo1.attach(servoPin1);
}

void loop()
{

    servo1.write(1500);
    delay(20);

}
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 08:03:20 PM by Ro-Bot-X »
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2008, 09:09:14 PM »
before I even connect it to the Roboduino, it just says there is a compiler error

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2008, 09:58:35 PM »
They both compile good on my computer. You probably don't have the ServoTimeTimer1 library. You can get it here:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/uploads/ComponentLib/servotimetimer1_168.zip

Edit: Oh, I just saw your previous post with the error. Unfortunatelly I can't see in the picture what the error message is...
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 10:06:10 PM by Ro-Bot-X »
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2009, 08:00:48 AM »
okay i got the ServoTimeTimer1 library.  I think I worded it wrong last time but as soon as I open the arduino software.  A compiler error comes up.  I can't get a good picture of it but this is what it says.

Compiler error,please submit this code to https://developer.berlios.de/bugs/?group_id=3590

java.io.IOException:  CreateProcess: C:/Users/gu/Desktop/arduino-0012-win/arduino-0012/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avr-g++  -c  -g  -Os  -Wall  -fno-exceptions -mmcu=atmega168
-DF_CPU=16000000L -IC:/Users/gu/Desktop/arduino-0012-win/arduino-0012/hardware/cores/arduino -Ihardware/libraries/EEPROM -Ihardware/libraries/EEPROM -Ihardware/libraries/Ethernet
-Ihardware/libraries/Firmata -Ihardware/libraries/LiquidCrystal -Ihardware/libraries/Matrix -Ihardware/libraries/Servo -Ihardware/libraries/SoftwareSerial
-Ihardware/libraries/Sprite -Ihardware/libraries/Stepper -Ihardware/libraries/Wire hardware/libraries/EEPROM/EEPROM.cpp -ohardware/libraries/EEPROM/EEPROM. o errors=3
    at java.lang.Win32Process.creat(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Win32Process.<int>(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Runtime.execInternal (Native Method)
    at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
    at processing.app.Library.build(Library.java: 432)
    at processnig.app.LibraryManager.buildALLUnbuilt (LibraryManager.java: 228)
    at processing.app.Editor.prepareLibraries (Editor.java: 384)
    at processing.app.Base.<init>(Base.java:161)
    at processing.app.Base.main(Base.java:104)
   

   

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2009, 08:23:24 AM »
I think I had some errors like that when I first started to use Arduino. You may want to us the version 11 instead of the new version 12. You can get it here:
http://servicios.ried.cl/arduino-0011-live_setup.exe
I think it comes from the fact that it uses different Java version or something like that.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2009, 08:44:22 AM »
downloading it right now. Hopefully it works.

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #19 on: January 02, 2009, 06:39:22 PM »
downloading done and everything seemed fine I copied and pasted the program Ro-Bot-X had and when I was uploaded it to my microcontroller there was an error stating this

29:  error: ServoTimeTimer1.h: No such file or directory In function 'void setup()':
 In function 'void loop()':

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2009, 06:44:16 PM »
I have downloaded the ServoTimeTimer1 library, but now where do I put it?

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #21 on: January 02, 2009, 10:22:52 PM »
I'm sorry, I should have given you the link to the page with all the explanations about what to do with the library. All the libraries you download you have to install (unzip) into a new folder with their name that would be located in the Arduino-(version)/Hardware/Libraries folder.

Here is the link: http://www.arduino.cc/playground/ComponentLib/Servotimetimer1
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #22 on: January 03, 2009, 06:17:07 PM »
I am starting to believe my computer hates me >:(

I did everything exactly like the arduino website said and I even triple checked it

After doing everything with the arduino website I opened up the arduino program and went to file/sketchbook/examples/ServoTimeTimer1/two_pots_controlling_two_servos

Then I went to sketch then to verify/compile

After that I got a long list of stuff that was wrong

first off the #define potPin1 0  was highlighted

and this is what it said was wrong

In file included from C:\Users\gu\Desktop\Arduino\hardware\cores\arduino/WProgram.h:4,

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:80: error: expected unqualified-id before 'int'

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:80: error: expected `)' before 'int'

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:80: error: expected `)' before 'int'

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:111: error: expected unqualified-id before 'int'

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:111: error: expected `)' before 'int'

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:111: error: expected `)' before 'int'

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:144: error: expected identifier before '(' token

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:144: error: expected `)' before '(' token

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:144: error: expected ',' or '...' before '(' token

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:144: error: expected initializer before ')' token

c:/users/gu/desktop/arduino/hardware/tools/avr/lib/gcc/../../avr/include/stdlib.h:176: error: '__compar_fn_t' has not been declared

In file included from C:\Users\gu\Desktop\Arduino\hardware\cores\arduino/WProgram.h:6,

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #23 on: January 03, 2009, 08:28:08 PM »
Uninstall arduino and any other related stuff and re-install it.

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #24 on: January 03, 2009, 09:00:30 PM »
Tried it and it still does the same thing

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #25 on: January 03, 2009, 09:21:39 PM »
I'll uninstall my Arduino software and then install it again, and take notes of any place where someone could mess up. I'll do this tomorrow. Check back on this post.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #26 on: January 03, 2009, 10:39:51 PM »
Its not really good to have AVR studio and Arduino IDE installed at the same time, they use conflicting drivers for hardware programmers.

Usually, If I have an Arduino sketch, I will just compile it into a hex file with the Arduino IDE, and then upload that hex file to my target with AVR Studio 4 and my AVRISPMK2.


Good read from "mellis":
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1185405709



Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #27 on: January 04, 2009, 08:58:58 AM »
How do I compile it into a hex file?

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #28 on: January 04, 2009, 09:24:18 PM »
Out off curiosity I went back to read over the all the replys in my post I tried this program that Ro-Bot-X had told me to try early so I copied to the arduino and it compiled without and error.


#define Servo 5  // digital pin 5, PWM pin

void setup() {
 
  pinMode(Servo, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(Servo, LOW);
}

void loop(){
  digitalWrite(Servo, HIGH);           
  delayMicroseconds(1500);       
  digitalWrite(Servo, LOW);   
  delayMicroseconds(8500);       
}

I am still boggled why that last program Ro-Bot-X had posted didn't work but hopefully I can now modify my servos.(getting out the Roboduino)

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Roboduino Connection
« Reply #29 on: January 05, 2009, 05:23:38 PM »
How do I compile it into a hex file?


There should be a button/menu option on the Arduino 0012 IDE that says Verify/Compile.

Then you use your file browser to look for the hex file in the sketches applet folder

 


Get Your Ad Here