go_away

Author Topic: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8  (Read 3534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JeevonTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« on: January 03, 2009, 05:21:20 PM »
Hi,

I've looked all over the forum but I could'nt find any helpful post. So i decided to post my problem.
I am trying to load the hex file into the atmega8 with avrisp mkII but all it tells me is that :

Getting isp parameter.. SD=0x03 .. OKOK
Reading FLASH input file.. OK
Setting mode and device parameters.. OK!
Entering programming mode.. OK!
Erasing device.. OK!
Programming FLASH ..  FAILED!
Leaving programming mode.. OK!

I checked for shorts and it seems there is no shorts
I appreciate your help
THank you

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2009, 05:23:26 PM »
What is your ISP frequency?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline JeevonTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2009, 05:24:47 PM »
It sets automatically to 1Mhz

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2009, 05:39:07 PM »
It sets automatically to 1Mhz

The ISP frequency needs to be less than 1/4 of the microcontroller's frequency.

ISP Frequency is selected by Clicking Setting over here:
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline JeevonTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2009, 06:00:35 PM »
The atmega8 clock speed is 16Mhz so i figured 1Mhz is ok but it doesnt want to change the frequency it puts back to 1Mhz also i have a problem with the signature...

I`ve attached a print screen of it

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2009, 07:45:16 PM »
Did you set the mega8 to 16mhz on your own? They dont come out of the factory at 16mhz.

Offline JeevonTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2009, 08:56:24 PM »
i checked the specs on digikey and it says 16Mhz.
Anyways can someone help me with the signature problem ?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2009, 08:59:26 PM »
are you sure your circuit is correct?

Btw change the ISP frequency to 125 khz - your ATmega comes shipped set at 1mhz.
Then try to read the signature again.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2009, 09:02:01 PM »
16MHz is it's top speed, not the speed out of the box... Anyways...
Set your ISP speed to minimum and check....
Also and more important AVR ISP programmer don't show 00000000 signature
But another non zero signature.... if ISP speed isn't right...

So also check your wiring....
And please, be more pleasant...
We are not obliged to answer...


Best Regards, Lefteris
Greece
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline JeevonTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2009, 09:09:49 PM »
Thank you Airman00 Your the best ^^

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2009, 09:14:25 PM »
Thank you Airman00 Your the best ^^
::)

What ended up being the issue?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline JeevonTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Cannot transfer the program to the Atmega8
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2009, 11:47:00 PM »
It was the frequenc, I put it on 125 khz and it works

You helped me a lot airman00 Thanks again !

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list