Author Topic: XBee Pro Help  (Read 2092 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MagnusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Helpful? 0
XBee Pro Help
« on: January 08, 2009, 09:18:53 PM »
Is anyone using Xbee Pro to control their robot? Is it easy to set up and use?

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2009, 10:05:54 PM »
i have xbee modules and adapters, but they are not the pro ones. What do you need?

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2009, 04:04:44 AM »
Is anyone using Xbee Pro to control their robot? Is it easy to set up and use?
hi Magnus,
easy is relative.
if you already know how to connect 2 microcontrollers via their UART then yes, using Xbee or Xbee Pro modules is quite straight forward.

dunk.

Offline MagnusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Helpful? 0
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2009, 01:38:12 PM »
Thanks for your time,

Therein lies the problem. I have no experience yet with any of todays microcontrollers. I'm going to need allot of guidance on this stuff. I'm looking for someone to kind of take me under their wing for awhile and help me get started. The AXON controller looks like it will be my first choice. What I need the most help with however, will be coming up with a reliable R/C system that can control 24 or more devices. Whether it will be R/C, RF Modem, WIFI, etc. I don't know what to choose. I have no experience with stuff so it's going to be a steep learning curve. I want to be able to control the robot from at least 200ft away while it is out of my line of vision (ie. from another room or building). So I'll need a really good wireless video system as well. I really like the idea of being able to control it via the web but, as I said, I need someone to help me know where to start.


Offline hgordon

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Helpful? 7
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2009, 05:20:54 PM »
Don't bother with 2.4MHz systems (Wifi, Bluetooth, XBee, etc) - the range is very limited without line-of-sight.  Radios in the 900MHz or lower spectrum will probably give you adequate results.

If you need digital video, you will need a radio link with 1-2Mbps throughput.  I'm currently looking at a system from avalan.com that provides 1Mbps - we will use this with the SRV-1 Blackfin cameras, which can be controlled remotely via internet.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 05:21:49 PM by hgordon »
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline MagnusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Helpful? 0
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2009, 03:57:18 PM »
avalanwireless.com?
Have you got any price quotes yet?

Offline hgordon

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Helpful? 7
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2009, 04:59:42 PM »
Exactly.  Take a look at the OEM modules.  I just ordered a couple of AW900mUART (equivalent to AW900mSPI) for $129 each retail.  They should be here at the beginning of next week.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline MagnusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Helpful? 0
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2009, 05:31:36 PM »
Hi hgordon

What distributor are you using for the AW900mUART? So, will I need two of these? Do you think these will provide good clear stable wireless video/audio from one room to another or one building to another? I need to be able to drive my robot reliablly when he is out of my line of sight. How hard will these be to set up and use? Sorry for so many questions but I'm not up to speed on this stuff (yet).


Also have you looked at XStream-PKG 900 MHz?

Thanks for your time on this,

Magnus

BTW my last name is Gordon :)

Offline hgordon

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Helpful? 7
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2009, 07:36:55 PM »
XStream data rates are much lower - 9.6k-19.2kbaud. 

The Avalan runs at 1000kbaud.   At this data rate, you can get a pretty good video frame rate - maybe 10-15 frames/second at 320x240 resolution.  We will be using these with the SRV-1 Blackfin camera board.

You will need a pair of radios, plus probably a USB bridge from the UART for your host computer.

We are purchasing radios direct from Avalan.  Actually, if our tests of the first radios are successful, it's likely that we will act as a reseller, so you will probably be able to buy these through surveyor.com.

If you want to discuss system configuration, send an email to [email protected]
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline MagnusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Helpful? 0
Re: XBee Pro Help
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2009, 01:57:59 PM »
hgordon,

Thanks for the info. I will consider it ;D

 


Get Your Ad Here