go_away

Author Topic: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?  (Read 1798 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline want2learnTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« on: January 10, 2009, 07:22:13 AM »
How do I go about capturing and storing a data stream from a 2.4GHz carrier?

There's a bit of equipment at work, the manufacturer will only supply 2 remotes per device. This is a royal pain since there are about 5-6 of us that need remotes. We've tried loads of times to get more, even told them one was broken but they wont replace it until we send the defective remote back  >:(
There are only 4 buttons- Left, Right, Forward, Back.

I want to see if i can build a couple of remotes myself, a colleague has said the fuse bits will probably be burned to stop me simply using their software so this is out (not that i would actually try to get their software  ::) )

I would've tried google but really I have no idea what I need here!

EDIT:- I should probably have pointed out that I'll have to do this without an oscope as I wont be able to do it at work :(
« Last Edit: January 10, 2009, 03:51:27 PM by want2learn »
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2009, 08:53:23 PM »
Quote
How do I go about capturing and storing a data stream from a 2.4GHz carrier?
What format is it transmitted? What does the receiver interpret the data as? bps?

Offline want2learnTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2009, 12:23:53 PM »
Sorry admin, I don't know.
I know this would be soooooo much easier with a scope but for the forseeable future it aint gonna happen :(.
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2009, 12:16:00 AM »
Wait . . . so you are asking how to capture data, but you have no idea what the data is or format it is in? :P

Ok better question . . . what device is transmitting the data?

Offline want2learnTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2009, 04:00:57 PM »
Yeah sorry, I know.
The device sending the data is a hand held remote, it has 4 buttons as stated previously. The receiving device could be thought of as a pick and place with manual override (It's similar, I've been told if I'm going to pursue this outside work then I can't give out the machine or manufacturer details.)

Perhaps remote chasing will have to do for now. I knew this would be a pain, just wanted pointing in the right direction
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2009, 05:42:16 PM »
Here is an idea:

Make your own RF remote controls with 4 buttons
Those RF remote control talk to a receiver which switches on transistors which in turn "press" the buttons on the real remotes

So basically like this:
4 DIY remotes ( make them using RF modules or plain old R/C cars)
DIY Remotes talk to a DIY receiver
DIY receiver controls 'real' remote with transistors
Everyone is happy.

DIY = do it yourself, means you made it from scratch
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2009, 05:53:57 PM »
I don't know if you really can capture any data, in any format..... but some
modules from Cypress, can do a lot of things...
Check the cywm6935, note that they need a very clean power supply and that
they are a hell to program and operate.... Believe me!!!!
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2009, 03:29:55 PM »
Frequency sniffer comes to mind

I like erics idea of making a couple of your own remotes and using those to control your own receiver that in turn pushes the buttons. Perhaps using servos or something. Maybe even a really really tiny 3 axis CNC machine that just pushes buttons :P
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline want2learnTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Capturing Data From 2.4GHz Carrier?
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2009, 01:02:39 PM »
Thanks for the suggestion Eric. Seems like it will be the easiest way to go.
I'll run it past my colleagues and see how it goes.

Just goes to show that a little outside help and a bit of laterall thinking can go a long way.

Big thanks to all  ;D
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list