go_away

Author Topic: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor  (Read 1810 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Xerox23Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« on: January 14, 2009, 12:55:26 PM »
Hi, If i rebuild my pc, 1000GB harddisk, 3GHz quad, etc.
Because this robot im going to build will store much data online and offline so it needs to be large, it needs to be very quick because of all the functions it will have, so can i just put in some of the chippsets and parts from my computer and put into the robot which is 2 m, 6-7 feet height?

See this: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=6517.0

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2009, 01:48:40 PM »
Is this your first robot because it sounds MEGA complicated?
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2009, 02:12:41 PM »
If you need some decent processing power on board your robot, you may want to consider an ITX form-factor board.
They are well-suited to mobile platforms, unlike a standard PC motherboard.

Offline householdutensils

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
  • Helpful? 2
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2009, 10:27:37 PM »
If you want to use a desktop or even an ITX mobo, be prepared to fork out the scratch for a DC-DC ATX PSU, otherwise you'll have to lug round a 100 - 250 watt inverter, as well as a fullsize atx psu, incidentally, you'll also loose a bunch of efficiency during the double handling.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2009, 10:28:30 PM by householdutensils »

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2009, 11:52:13 PM »
Did you guys check the OP's other post which I assumed to be related?
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline MaltiK

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
  • Helpful? 2
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2009, 06:14:21 AM »
Did you guys check the OP's other post which I assumed to be related?

Yerp, this is an incredibly ambitious task, I advise you not to fork over a bunch of cash before researching, dont just take our advice when you are about to purchase a 1 TB hard drive with high CPU speed, check datasheets, websites, etc. Also a biped that can do the stuff you mentioned hasnt been done to say the least, and not nearly as smooth as  you said, but good luck anyway pal ;).
Warranty

Offline Xerox23Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2009, 01:55:49 PM »
I see, ok my humanoid robot will fail, but as i found  asite onhow to build him i will probably succeed in a year or two, now I already have bought the computer, it was for 800$, including nvidia 260 gtx etc.

Uh, I dont wanna ruin my computer i bought for 800$:O

But i can see if i can find a hardware store with a computer for 20$ or something:P
(Im good finding cheap jerk computers)

Thanks for the advice, my bad, Btw, the hard part for me is to find legs to the robot that can hold up the robot very good so he doesnt fall down and the whole robot will be destroyed.

Offline Tomas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Helpful? 0
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2009, 10:09:56 AM »
Go for it man, keep us updated on everything as it goes along  :P

Offline Xerox23Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2009, 11:02:06 AM »
K, i changed the whole posts i had here, now i have created the biped with aluminum/metal parts
All this is from scratch, havent bought this material, but he cant move so i need one more material that is smooth under the "hard" material.

I need the parts for my robot now, his  1m tall,3 ft but i dont know what cards i should buy for a humanoid robot on 3ft.

If you see the image to the right, "Want to build a humanoid?" he should look like that in the form, but not the details...

I went over to their site but it was to expensive so i need a good robot that is cheap, check out my other robot topic about the humanoid.

Offline Rebelgium

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
Re: the memory of the CPU microcontroller processor
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2009, 06:08:31 PM »
hmm, I read some of your topics.
And I suspect you have WAY to little knowledge to make that humanoid of your dreams, because it ARE dreams.  :-\

For starters the title of the topic already indicates this...
anyway, I recommend you start with the 50$ robot, and then buy a biped and try programming it for a while. Then you'll see how hard it is, and how challenging the things you talk about are.
To relax after some hard work on robotics: A very fun free online text based MMORPG
orgcrime.net

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list