go_away

Author Topic: 6 axle ?  (Read 1935 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Clue144Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
6 axle ?
« on: January 17, 2009, 07:34:16 AM »
ok this is a quik image i have made



those thick black lines are round tubes to spin ... my 6 axle
and i whant to spin them one at the time with 2 dc motor if its possible.

if motor 1 spins right and motor 2 spins left then the first axle will rotate.

if motor 1 spins left and motor 2 spins right then the second axle will rotate.

if motor 1 is stoped and motor 2 spins right then the third axle will rotate.

if motor 1 is stoped and motor 2 spins left then the fourth axle will rotate.

if motor 1 spins left and motor 2 is stoped then the fifth axle will rotate.

if motor 1 spins right and motor 2 is stoped then the sixth axle will rotate.


Ok i hope someone understand this, this would work if i know how to build it, I have a couple of gears but its seems impossible.

Can anyone help me, show me or explain how exactly i can do or give me another teory to make this ?

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: 6 axle ?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 08:21:33 AM »
Hi,

Sounds like a waste of power, since you obviously will use only one motor to actually rotate the axles (and you have no means of changing direction of rotation of the axles).

A much better approach would be to use a single motor to drive a cogwheel (or perhaps rather a cogaxle). Another motor(perhaps a stepper), a solenoid or something similar could then select which axle is engaged.

But... What is the purpose of the one-axle-at-a-time?
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Clue144Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 6 axle ?
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 08:57:03 AM »
Dont think my ide will take that mutch power, only when axle 1 and 2 is activated the two motor is runnig on the other axles only one is active.
i know it can be made with a complex gear configurations, but i yust dont know how to build it  >:(

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: 6 axle ?
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2009, 09:50:35 AM »
That would be very hard to do. Why not just use a motor per axle? It's going to cost more to use all the gears and one-way bearings you will need.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: 6 axle ?
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2009, 06:00:24 PM »
Hi,

Dont think my ide will take that mutch power, only when axle 1 and 2 is activated the two motor is runnig on the other axles only one is active.

When you have 2 motors running in different directions, 1 will be running just to select an axle (i.e. a waste of power).


Quote
i know it can be made with a complex gear configurations, but i yust dont know how to build it  >:(
Quote
I have a couple of gears but its seems impossible.

The old saying "Nothing is impossible as long as you don't have to do it yourself" seems to apply here?!?

Of course it can be done, but it would be a completely insane waste of mechanics (lots and lots of gears and several one way gears etc.) and mechanics waste power as well, not to mention the fact that you are asking others to do a huge design for you, without even considering more sensible solutions.

And once more I'll ask you... What is the purpose of this gizmo?
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Dr Joe

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 6 axle ?
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2009, 10:35:46 PM »
Electric clutches.

Are these axles? (you stated tubes).

Are these for drive wheels?

It helps to know the purpose.

r

Offline BANE

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: 6 axle ?
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2009, 08:49:48 PM »
back in the day i built something similar with LEGOs, only not as many axis', but if i recall right about how it worked you guys are definitely right about it being inefficient.  But it was a good learning experience; I learn best when i fail :D.

Good luck clue144 ;)

Bane

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list