Author Topic: Batterys with $50 robot  (Read 2701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Batterys with $50 robot
« on: January 18, 2009, 06:58:35 AM »
I have bought the case (the one in the middle of the picture =D) and have bought some batterys to go with it, will 4x 2050 mAh AA's blow up the components or something (i know im overexaggerating)?  Please Reply Soon, i really want to keep bulding my robot (although i havnt started yet as half the stuff hasnt come) =D

Thanx

Joe
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 11:47:59 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 08:20:56 AM »
2050mAh is quite good. It will supply current for a longer time.
4 of those wont fry anything as the voltage is about 6 volts; an Ideal voltage.
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer Roboticist
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 12:25:05 PM »
2050mAh is quite good. It will supply current for a longer time.
4 of those wont fry anything as the voltage is about 6 volts; an Ideal voltage.

Voltage will peak at more like 5.3V (4*1.3 + change).

Which is perfectly good, too.
I

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2009, 12:28:16 PM »
are you saying it will fry, gertlex?

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2009, 12:32:48 PM »
No it will not fry  :)

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2009, 12:34:51 PM »
Ok, Thanks


Joe

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2009, 01:41:58 PM »
OMG! I NEED TO BUY QUICK, WILL 1700 mAh FOR EACH AA BE OK? I NEED TO BUY REAL SOON AS I WAS GONNA BUY TONIGHT BUT ONES I WANT GONNA GET WAS DISCONTINUED. REMEMBER IM USING 4 CAUSE ITS A X4 BATTERY CASE!

Thanks (Soz for CAPS, just gotta type fast)

Joe
« Last Edit: January 21, 2009, 01:46:41 PM by Joesavage1 »

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2009, 01:58:35 PM »
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2009, 02:07:01 PM »
Yes, 1700mah is plenty. For portability I often use small 600mah battery packs.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2009, 01:43:32 AM »
Ok, thanks guys im going for the ones I found but thanks for link too, cause im buying a duracell charger as well i can go up to like 2650 mAh batteries on that, so if i wanted more i could have more =D.   When a big battery pack says 1700 mAh (such as the one in the $50 tutorial) does this mean the WHOLE battery pack, or just one of the AA's?

Thanks

Joe

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2009, 06:54:18 AM »
Both. A battery pack (say 4 cells,) is made of 4 1700mah cells. The cells are wired in series, so you still have 1700mah for the entire battery pack.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2009, 09:21:06 AM »
why not just have one cell then?

Thanks

Joe

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2009, 09:27:26 AM »
why not just have one cell then?

Thanks

Joe

The NiMH AA cells are about 1.2 volts each. Four wired in series given you 4.8V. So if you can find a single rechargeable 5v cell then you just use that. But AAs are much easier to find.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2009, 10:12:52 AM »
Oh yer Volts i forgot bout them,

Thanks

Joe

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2009, 01:23:49 AM »
Sorrys to bother you agian but im going to buy some 2650 mAh, will these work with the robot? (if you can, can you tell me the top amount of mAh you could go to so i dont have to keep asking, or can amps per hour never fry, just the voltage? =D)

Thanks

Joe

Offline cosminprund

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
  • Helpful? 8
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2009, 07:28:20 AM »
The "amp-hour" value tells you how much power is stored within the cell: the bigger the "amp-hour" the longer your bot will run on it. Make sure you've got enough volts so the bot runs and then give it as much "amp-hours" as you can afford. Just don't mix cells of different amp-hours within the same pack!

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2009, 11:04:18 AM »
2650 is more than enough. I would say 500mah would the the minimum you should use, you might get 5 to 10 minutes of running with a 500mah pack.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2009, 02:39:13 PM »
by more than enough do you mean it will, or will not fry?

Thanks

Joe

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2009, 02:47:05 PM »
as said before, mAh rating just says how long it can power something before the battery dies. 500mAh will run 1A for 30 minutes. 1000mAh will run 1A for 1hr. 2650mAh will run 1A for 2.65hrs.

Current and voltage are what fry things. As long as you dont exceed the maximum current and voltage of the devices in the circuit then you wont fry anything.
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2009, 01:16:52 AM »
so mAh just means how long it can power, so the mAh can never fry, just the volt, or current?

Thanks

Joe

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Batterys with $50 robot
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2009, 01:36:27 AM »
Yes that is correct.

 


Get Your Ad Here