go_away

Author Topic: Soldering Question  (Read 5021 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Soldering Question
« on: January 18, 2009, 07:05:55 AM »
can a soldering iron (or gun in my case) be too hot? because when i used to randomly unsolder things, like old TV remotes, my old flytech dragonfly; some of the components burned out and broke, I've already bought new solder (22 gauge) to make sure i dont brake the components but will i need a new soldering iron/gun??

Thanx

Joe

EDIT: i Have an old Weller Universal soldering gun of some kind.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 07:27:54 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 07:17:56 AM »
too hot is relative. Some components can only handle a small amount of heat, anything higher and they will burn out. Other components can handle a lot of heat.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 07:26:06 AM »
Thanks for the reply, what do you suggest i do?
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 07:28:32 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2009, 08:17:31 AM »
Try your hardest to solder as far away from the component as possible and try to make sure your iron isnt on it any longer than absolutely necessary. There are also little heat sink clips you can buy such as one from RadioShack for 2 bucks.
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2009, 11:23:25 AM »
The soldering Gun you're using is a pistol grip type isn't it ;)

These are far too hot for about 60-80% of electronic components.

You need to buy an iron, those pistol grip soldering guns are meant  for heavy duty soldering. Heavy gauge wires and some chassis mount connectors require this type of gun as they act as heatsinks and draw heat quickly away from the connection whereas pcb work doesn't.

If you have the money (20 is ok) buy yourself a 18/24 watt soldering iron with a very fine tip, almost like a pencil or needle.
While you're at it buy a cheap stand with a small sponge holder.

If I'm wrong then sorry but your technique needs a lot of work
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2009, 11:25:00 AM »

yes it is a pistol type grip, ill see if i can buy a new iron, but thanks for the heat clip suggestion anyway HDL_CinC_Dragon =D
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 11:28:13 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2009, 11:47:16 AM »
Does anyone know were i can get a decent soldering iron (one that dosn't fry components) in the UK?
I can spend up to like 30 although cheaper is better, (i still want 1 that lasts a while though)

Thanks

Joe

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2009, 11:50:17 AM »
maplins ones are crap, they last about a day. thats the lesson i learnt.
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web


Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer Roboticist
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2009, 12:30:12 PM »
is this soldering iron ok?

http://www.rapidonline.com/Tools-Fasteners-Production-Equipment/Soldering-Equipment/Soldering-Irons/High-efficiency-25W-soldering-iron-with-fitted-mains-plug/60704/kw/85-0660


Thanks

Joe


That looks like it'd work.  I couldn't find what temperature it operates at, though... (but I'd say 99% chance it's more than enough).

But ya... find the temperature out.  I got a new soldering iron for xmas... 900F.  I haven't used it yet.... because as far as I understand, that's a very high temperature for soldering.  I should have bought the new soldering iron myself x_x.

Also, I'd go for one that comes with a stand... just out of preference.
I

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2009, 12:33:37 PM »
ok, ill take you up on the fact it will work =D, im buying it now


Thanks


Joe

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2009, 12:35:48 AM »
The Iron will be fine, remember to order the stand at the same time though.

Not a lot of soldering irons for sale in the U.K. actually show operating temperature. 25W is ok for through hole component work.
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2009, 12:40:20 PM »
would this stand fit it?


http://www.rapidonline.com/Tools-Fasteners-Production-Equipment/Soldering-Equipment/Iron-Stands/Soldering-iron-stands-and-sponges/30437

If not can you find me one that would on Rapidonline.com?

Thanks

Joe
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 12:41:56 PM by Joesavage1 »

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2009, 01:14:11 PM »
no that stand would not fit because that stand is for weller soldering irons, not xytronic soldering irons.
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2009, 01:15:09 PM »
can u find me one on Rapidonline that will fit??

Thanks

Joe

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2009, 01:15:27 PM »
Not sure how much you want to spend, but i noticed this a few months ago:

http://uk.farnell.com/duratool/d00675/soldering-station-uk-plug/dp/149836449

Its a temperature controlled "soldering station" for about 30.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2009, 01:30:31 PM »
Ive found out the stand i was going to buy wouldnt fit, so im going to twist an old coathanger into a shape and get a small spounge for the cleaning spounge, Many thanks to Frodo for the Idea.

Thank you all for your greatly needed help.  ;D


Joe

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2009, 02:10:13 PM »
Sorry - but IMHO some folk are trying to make this seem more complex than it is.

Soldering irons don't fry anything - it's how you use them. I've got several Weller, and Antex, irons - all cheap - which have lasted me for years (the Weller since 1970s). None have soldering stations - they are just 'hot metal'. OK - I don't spend ages de-soldering things and, if I do, I  use a solder braid. But so far, and touch wood, I haven't managed to fry anything. But at the end of the day you get what you pay for.

@Frodo -
Quote
maplins ones are crap, they last about a day. thats the lesson i learned.
From previous off line chats you said these were like 'own brand' and cost about 3 (say $5) each. 3 is too good to be true. But they sell Antex irons as well - and, as already said, they do the job for me. Not brilliant - but completely functional for the average person like me.

@Joesavage1 - a stand is just somewhere to plonk something hot. So most stands are just a coiled wire - to dissipate heat. So Frodos 'bent coathanger' will work. But most stands will work as the diameter of irons are pretty similar. Again - my 'one and only' iron stand is from the 1970s - no idea WHAT iron make it was intended for but works with all of the irons Ive got.

Temperature - guns etc. I believe guns are somewhat 'high temperature shotguns'. Use your soldering iron + braid.

There's no way I'm going to spend a fortune on a sophisticated iron. So even if I do fry a few AtMegas (haven't done it yet) then its a fraction of the cost of a professional iron.

Lets be pragmatic. I'd rather spend the money I save on electronics.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2009, 02:18:03 PM »
@ Webbot -
ye 3 is a good price and all i was able to afford at  the time but i intend on getting one now that might last longer than 1-2 days.
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2009, 02:36:25 PM »
I wasn't trying to make this complicated at all. Those pistol grip soldering irons are not intended for PCB work, they are used in applications where heat draw is a problem e.g. heavy duty wiring some connectors, hell I even used one to solder the copper pipe in a homebrew solar water heater.
A beginner would find it most difficult to use one of these for PCB work, especially on a crowded board.

If you weren't referring to me then you have my sincerest apologies, I've had a terrible day.

BTW My first soldering iron was the cheapest that you could get (1.50ish). It lasted more than 4 years before I burned it out. As long as you turn them off when you wont be using them they'll definitely give you your money's worth
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2009, 12:57:25 AM »
Thanks for all your advice everyone,

As i have said THANKS A BILLION, im going to go with the coathanger =D, oh and while im here im just going to take this off subject, are these ok for my $50 they were not the UK code on paula's list cause they were out of stock:
its number 22-0185 on

http://www.rapidonline.com/Cables-Connectors/Connectors-Multipole/DIL-Sockets/Low-profile-DIL-IC-sockets/63772/kw/22-0175

Thanks, and sorry for this unrelated question, just though i may aswell make use of this thread. =D

Joe

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2009, 05:51:42 AM »
No - you can't use that one because it is 0.6 inches wide rather than 0.3 inches wide.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2009, 01:14:11 PM »
is there a way that i can use this in it, as ive already ordered?   :'(

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2009, 01:26:26 PM »
you could solder single strand wire onto the pins of the microcontroller then shove the wires into the corresponding bits in the socket but its fiddly.   :-\
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline cosminprund

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
  • Helpful? 8
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #24 on: January 21, 2009, 06:25:24 AM »
is there a way that i can use this in it, as ive already ordered?   :'(

Cut off the plastic tabs in the middle so the sides can get closer to each other. Or just go to an local shop and get a new one that's the correct size and keep this one for later.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #25 on: January 21, 2009, 11:21:33 AM »
can you draw me a diagram, which plastic tabs?

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #26 on: January 21, 2009, 11:31:34 AM »
the tabs in the middle of the socket that join the two sides together.
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2009, 10:32:12 AM »
I rung them up, and ordered a pack of 15 as they were the only ones they had in stock =D

Thanks

Joe

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2009, 11:55:51 AM »
Haha, we had electronics today at school and it turns out that the school use Rapid as an electronics company they get there stuff from; this whole time ive been using the soldering iron at school that im getting at home! turns out they have a education site too; http://www.rapidonline.com/Educational-Products , Hope this link comes in use to someone; =D

Thanks

Joe

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Soldering Question
« Reply #29 on: January 27, 2009, 12:43:05 PM »
 :D our school also uses Rapid Online for technology stuff and science! i've even thought about asking them to put stuff on the mailing list for me and i'd pay them how much it costs but i've never got round to it lol. good luck with your robot, Joe.
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

 


Get Your Ad Here