Author Topic: Automatic Turret  (Read 12792 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Automatic Turret
« on: February 08, 2009, 06:16:18 PM »
Dot matrix business card is basically done so next project... automated airsoft turret.
Currently I have modifed a cheap AEG to be triggered by a relay, and the relay is triggered by the microcontroller.


AEG was modifed by opening it up, removing unnecessary components, and using gardening shears to cut off excess plastic. A dremel took care of touching it up to look cleaner. The motor is hooked up directly to the relay.


Simple relay board, I decided to make it on protoboard just in case I fried the relay (first time working with them). Some connectors and one diode was all that was needed.


For asthetics, I would be making a laser "eye" like in the portal turrets. A hole is drilled in the center to accomodate a laser. I masked off parts around it that will light up red/green.

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 07:33:00 PM »
next you could mount it on servos

then you could use the stampy robot code moded so that it will follow the target
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2009, 07:39:40 PM »
you need a MOSFET or transistor to drive the relay
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2009, 10:44:47 PM »
Wow! That is So wickedly Awesome!!!
I am definelty gonna try and build one!!..or two...or three..(or one base with three turrets).........
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 10:53:37 PM by Metal Slug 2 »

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2009, 03:41:13 PM »
After painting and removing masking



Light coat of paint over entire thing to diffuse light




Laser installed




Painted gun white (what is with the clearsoft guns)




Fill inside with cotton to diffuse light, wrap inside with electrical tape to prevent light from coming out the sides




Insert laser and leds




 :o

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2009, 03:50:39 PM »
nice. looks like that eye thing in big brother. where will it be used
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline Spoil9

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 155
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2009, 04:40:15 PM »
Very nice. Which airsoft gun did you start with? I'm assuming you got one that is battery powered so you can activate the trigger with a pulse from the MCU?
I have thought of doing this as well, but can not find a cheap enough airsoft pistol around here that is battery powered that I wouldn't mind hacking up.
Knowledge is Power. Power Corrupts. Study Hard. Be Evil.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2009, 04:42:46 PM »
Yeah, it's one of those cheap no-name brand electric airsoft guns. I got mine in a two pack with a pistol for $30 at wal-mart a while back.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2009, 06:59:14 PM »
Getting a basic mockup of the tilt mount done, final one might be acrylic. It will be mounted on a rotating base (for pan). I used brackets from budgetrobotics.




Offline izaktj

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2009, 10:06:51 PM »
Dude I've always wanted to do something like this!!

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2009, 11:23:11 AM »
Cool!

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2009, 01:50:28 PM »
I ran out of shampoo and got a great idea at the same time  ;)

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2009, 03:09:37 PM »
Very nice. Which airsoft gun did you start with? I'm assuming you got one that is battery powered so you can activate the trigger with a pulse from the MCU?
I have thought of doing this as well, but can not find a cheap enough airsoft pistol around here that is battery powered that I wouldn't mind hacking up.
Razor Concepts used the  " Pulse-M70 " fully automatic electronic airsoft gun...(i think...its made by a company called Crosman)
« Last Edit: February 15, 2009, 03:21:10 PM by Metal Slug 2 »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,666
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2009, 02:11:41 AM »
Quote
you need a MOSFET or transistor to drive the relay
trash the relay and just use a MOSFET alone . . . relays are useless today except for high powered stuff. 8)

Where did you buy the airsoft gun at? ERP could sure use a Predator style shoulder mount cannon . . .

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2009, 05:58:51 AM »
Where did you buy the airsoft gun at?
just look online for the electric airsoft guns, they're everywhere!
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2009, 11:12:29 AM »
I got mine at wal-mart or target. Dont spend over $30 for one or else its not worth it.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2009, 09:18:33 PM »
Added transistor to drive relay as airman suggested:

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2009, 06:48:46 PM »
Finally got some PVC sheet to replace the wood.


Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2009, 07:23:20 PM »
wow, that looks great! but what does the bottle do? mag? air tank??
Howdy

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2009, 09:40:49 PM »
The bottle is used as a hopper, or a mag if u prefer....dont know why such a big one would be needed though...that thing could hold probably 2000+ BB's easily.

Offline 4by4

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2009, 08:51:14 AM »
Razor, what's your experience with the reliability of the gun? I've been working on a couple of RC vehicles that originally had airsoft turrets, but the guns got jammed so often, I abandoned them and have switched to IR laser-tag guns. The airsoft guns I used were the cheap ones used in Heng Long tanks. They jammed all the time, and had awful range. I also tried a $20 gun from Walmart, which was also pretty worthless. It had a better range, but jammed a lot also.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2009, 09:27:12 AM »
The original unmodifed gun could only hold 84 BBs. Not enough for me  ;D

I've used the gun unmodified for a long time, it has never jammed, although the original BB feeding system would get stuck so you would have to shake the gun a bit to get the BBs to roll down into the chamber. I added the front-feeding system on this to get rid of that problem.

Offline HyperNerd

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
  • Helpful? 5
  • N3rd1n80r
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2009, 11:37:30 AM »
if you use cheap BBs then they are not always perfectly round, so get wedged in the barrel. More expensive BBs are more round, so don't have this problem. This should even work with cheap BB guns.

 -HyperNerd
There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2009, 01:52:26 PM »
Added a base and made a pitch control system using a servo and ball linkages.




Video: (Sorry for the South Park in the background, I fogot to pause it  :-X )

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2009, 03:29:53 PM »
wow, i like the way you made the gun pivot are you going to add another rotation axis?
Howdy

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #25 on: February 28, 2009, 05:38:40 PM »
I really feel like it needs more space to move... a bigger angle range.... really....
Except from that.... everything else just more than fine....
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2009, 01:05:39 AM »
I also agree, it looks like it needs to move more, on the different axis as previously said.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,666
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2009, 06:47:32 AM »
Quote
I've used the gun unmodified for a long time, it has never jammed, although the original BB feeding system would get stuck so you would have to shake the gun a bit to get the BBs to roll down into the chamber. I added the front-feeding system on this to get rid of that problem.
Use a small vibrating motor, like a pager motor. Have it turn on this motor after every few shots . . . I see this done on feeder systems all the time.

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2009, 09:20:04 PM »
Quote
I've used the gun unmodified for a long time, it has never jammed, although the original BB feeding system would get stuck so you would have to shake the gun a bit to get the BBs to roll down into the chamber. I added the front-feeding system on this to get rid of that problem.
Use a small vibrating motor, like a pager motor. Have it turn on this motor after every few shots . . . I see this done on feeder systems all the time.

awesome, Thats a great idea... :)

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Automatic Turret
« Reply #29 on: March 07, 2009, 07:01:36 PM »
Changed location of ball link to get more pitch throw, and finally came up with an idea for pan. I used a budgetrobotics servo mount on it's side to hold the pan servo. Sorry for poor video quality, I misplaced my camera so I had to use my mp3 player


EDIT: Just found it, took better pics and video.



« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 07:29:18 PM by Razor Concepts »

 


Get Your Ad Here