go_away

Author Topic: Atmel buys ZigBee IP  (Read 2126 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« on: February 17, 2009, 03:44:12 AM »
Yeap, apparently Atmel is now adding ZigBee technology to their products:
http://www.atmel.com/dyn/corporate/view_detail.asp?FileName=MeshNeticsZigbeeIP_2_3.html

The announcement wasn't entirely clear, but it appears like they are adding ZigBee to the ARM, ATmega, XMEGA, and AVRŽ32 lines . . . supposedly products released 'Q1 2009'.

I want!!!!!


edit: You can find a video of it here
http://www.avrtv.com/2009/02/03/atmel-mcu-wireless-solutions-news/
« Last Edit: February 17, 2009, 03:49:22 AM by Admin »

Offline yerbie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 07:24:29 AM »
It's time to create Axon2  ;D

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2009, 09:22:27 AM »
Way ahead of you!

I looked into it and they have a pin compatible device with the current Axon:
http://www.atmel.com/dyn/products/devices.asp?family_id=676

However they haven't released any datasheets on it yet . . . just a $83 demo board:
http://www.atmel.com/dyn/products/tools_card.asp?tool_id=4395

Digikey is selling the chips already.

My concern is that I'd probably have to add an antennae, lose a UART output, and price will go up $10 each (after assembly and all supporting external components). If I sold 1000 Axons, thats $10k more I'd have to spend!

And not that many people have a ZigBee transceiver to receive stuff, which is the #1 reason I probably won't use it on an Axon.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2009, 11:05:44 AM »
Maybe you could do small runs of the zigbee axons.

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2009, 11:07:55 AM »
Well, XBee uses zigbee technology right?

If so, I've gotten wireless programming to work using the Xbee's.

You could boast it to be the only microcontroller you can program wirelessly

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2009, 12:35:49 PM »
Quote
You could boast it to be the only microcontroller you can program wirelessly
The RCX (LEGO) can be programmed wirelessly.
Robots are awesome!

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Atmel buys ZigBee IP
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2009, 01:11:07 PM »
I spoke with a rep from Atmel and it turns out ZigBee hasn't been integrated with any of their products. Only its now supported . . . meaning a ZigBee chip connected to an ATmega will work and is sold together . . .

He also mentioned the free 'ZigBee MAC' which apparently is software you can upload into an ATmega. I haven't looked into it though . . .

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list