Author Topic: wireless internet on a chip for robots?  (Read 2313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« on: February 17, 2009, 11:54:20 AM »
This question has been asked several times before on SoR, but the previous threads didn't cover what I'm looking for. And they are ~1.5 years old . . .

Basically I want a wireless internet on a chip for under $50, that can communicate with an ATmega by serial, and is basically plug-n-play.

my laptop -> wireless internet -> internet on a chip -> UART of ATmega

All my laptop should need is the already built-in wireless card.

Some stuff I found that will work, but all too big:
http://www.ewiznet.com/goods_detail.php?goodsIdx=135
http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=590-1041-ND
http://www.multitech.com/DOCUMENTS/Collateral/data_sheets/86002038.asp

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 12:55:23 PM »
must it be internet? Can it be a different form of communication
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2009, 01:07:57 PM »
It must be internet.

I'm thinking the technology isn't here yet for wireless internet on a chip, so if I can't find anything I'll revisit this again in a year or two . . .

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2009, 01:25:18 PM »
I'm afraid it doesn't meet your $50 criterium, but I just got a MatchPort wifi.  Works great.  I didn't get a chance to mess with it too much, but after about an hour I was communicating between my PC's terminal program and a micro via 802.11b.

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.

Offline hgordon

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Helpful? 7
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2009, 05:30:38 PM »
+1 for Lantronix Matchport.  That's what we use with the SRV-1 Blackfin robots.  Cost is closer to $80, but it's the best deal around.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2009, 08:17:03 PM »
That's why I got it.  If it's good enough for you guys, it's good enough for me  ;D

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2009, 08:46:12 PM »
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2009, 09:13:50 PM »
http://www.cirrus.com/en/products/pro/detail/P46.html

but that isn't wireless :P


Anyway I looked into the MatchPoint . . . had entirely forgotten about it despite using hgordon's Blackfin . . . it's still a bit too large/expensive.

Made by the same company, there is this:
http://www.gridconnect.com/wiport.html
The size is much better, but the cost even higher . . .


Oh and a question. Some wireless networks require entering a password, or like when I was a student CMU required us to register our MAC address before we could use the net. Think this would cause me any problems with MatchPoint or any other device?

Quote
Perhaps WiFly would do?

http://www.gridconnect.com/wifly.html

In terms of size/features, it seems exactly what I was looking for! Still pricey though (for the budget I set) . . . anyone used this before? Skimming through the datasheet it appears setup is 100% command line . . .

Do you know which option looks like this?

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2009, 10:44:45 PM »
The part in the picture may be one of these 2 part numbers:

RN-111B-E = SMA standard end launch jack
RN-111B-R = SMA reverse polarity end launch jack

It all depends on the antenna model you get for it.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline hgordon

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Helpful? 7
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2009, 10:53:22 PM »
I hadn't seen WiFly before.  I wonder if the SPI port supports higher throughput ?  This is the actual manufacturer - http://www.rovingnetworks.com/rn-111.php

I actually have a few WiPorts which I'm not using - we switched to the Matchport because we needed the lower profile package.  Send me an email if you want to make a deal on these - I might have 2 or 3 modules.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2009, 10:59:33 PM by hgordon »
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2009, 03:20:53 PM »
Oh and a question. Some wireless networks require entering a password, or like when I was a student CMU required us to register our MAC address before we could use the net. Think this would cause me any problems with MatchPoint or any other device?

The MAC address is printed on a sticker applied to the module.
Also, the module will come up on a pre-configured IP address if no DHCP server is present on its preset subnet.  One way you can set the module up is to set up an adhoc wireless connection from a laptop on the preset subnet.  Configuration is then via the laptop's web browser.  You can set security passwords, IP address, subnet, gateway, etc. there.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2009, 11:21:29 AM by ArcMan »

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: wireless internet on a chip for robots?
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2009, 03:37:35 PM »
in the states they have a sd card for a camera that automatically uploads your photos to flicker maybe you could hack it
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list