Author Topic: "Servoify" a dc motor.  (Read 1452 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hawaii00000Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Helpful? 2
"Servoify" a dc motor.
« on: February 19, 2009, 10:36:11 PM »
I'm thinking of building a large robot with wheelchair motors, and I don't want to use a H-bridge. Where can I find a circuit that will "servoify" a wheelchair motor?
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
**************************************************************
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

Offline madchimp

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Helpful? 2
Re: "Servoify" a dc motor.
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2009, 12:40:40 AM »
are these for drive motors or are they going to moving legs or arms or something similar?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: "Servoify" a dc motor.
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2009, 12:45:16 AM »
if theyre wheelchair motors wouldnt they be for drive?
Howdy

Offline madchimp

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Helpful? 2
Re: "Servoify" a dc motor.
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2009, 12:55:57 AM »
if theyre wheelchair motors wouldnt they be for drive?

thats what i thought but why bother with added trouble to "servoify" them if you cant use the feedback that would normally be the whole point of a servo maybe I'm just missing something wouldn't be the first  :D

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: "Servoify" a dc motor.
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2009, 12:58:07 AM »
well, why would you need to 'servoify' a motor? you could just as easily get a motor controller which is what most people do. but if your board your using only has servo outputs there should be a board out there that converts the signal but i have never seen such a thing.
Howdy

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: "Servoify" a dc motor.
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2009, 09:22:12 AM »
Servos themselves have built in hbridges so in order to create a servo with wheelchair motors you would still need to add an hbridge

 


Get Your Ad Here