go_away

Author Topic: Simple Transmitter question  (Read 1293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline esskTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Simple Transmitter question
« on: February 21, 2009, 10:01:38 PM »
I am trying to figure out a way to operate a remote control door for my robot. One of the cheapest option I was thinking is to transfer a simple on/off signal, so when you press the button, the transmitter will transfer a signal to a receiver then the receiver will output a analog signal. Does anyone know is it possible and how hard is it to build it?

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: Simple Transmitter question
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2009, 10:21:40 PM »
It is possible.
Here's some stuff that will do the job nicely (and cheaply).

http://www.rentron.com/PicBasic/RemoteControl.htm

Offline esskTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Simple Transmitter question
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2009, 10:41:38 PM »
It is possible.
Here's some stuff that will do the job nicely (and cheaply).

http://www.rentron.com/PicBasic/RemoteControl.htm



Thanks!

Offline esskTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Simple Transmitter question
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2009, 11:02:59 PM »
I was looking at the website. They look like they are for data transmitting. What I really want is just a simple on/off signal switch which only transmit one signal. Do you think there is something more simple? Thanks

Offline HyperNerd

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
  • Helpful? 5
  • N3rd1n80r
Re: Simple Transmitter question
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2009, 02:30:50 AM »
I was helping a guy out the other day with a topic like this one, he was making a R/C robot on the cheap. He found some encoder/decoder chips that provide 8 inputs/outputs (encoder/decoder). You plug one of those into a RF transmitter module ($8) and voila! 8 transmitted on or off signals, with no microcontroller!

That website ArcMan linked to sells a whole pack, providing 8 bits (8 on/off signals) of transmitted data. The pack has the encoder, decoder, transmitter, receiver and 2 antennas. just plug it in, and away you go!

This is the easiest solution i can think of without designing a transmitter yourself, and the aforementioned pack is only $25 ;D!

 -HyperNerd

PS. If you only need 4 signals, then buy the 4-bit pack for $19.50 :D!
There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: Simple Transmitter question
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2009, 12:53:31 PM »
Thanks HyperNerd.  That's right.  I built up the circuits with the encoder chip feeding the transmitter and the decoder chip being fed from the receiver.  It's a beautiful thang.  Turn on the digital inputs on one end and they come out the other end.  Easy and cheap.

 


Get Your Ad Here