go_away

Author Topic: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??  (Read 1912 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« on: February 24, 2009, 01:14:45 AM »
Anyone have any good ideas on how to professionally mount a PCB without mounting holes? I am talking about the Xbee and adapter here!!



Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2009, 03:09:27 AM »
Hi,

Too bad you didn't get something like this


If you want to keep the layout with connection leads, either make a frame with notches to mount it in, or take a thin layer of foam (~1cm or so) and lay between the adapter and your main board - hold it down with an elastic band or two. Just don't thermally isolate any heat producing components.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 11:56:46 AM »
Hey my adapter does have the holes for headers in the bottom. Thanks for getting me thinking on that.

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2009, 11:58:15 AM »
looks gud what are u making?
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2009, 12:05:17 PM »
If they have any of those bigger battery boxes where you got yours try that.
Kurt

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2009, 06:24:37 PM »
If I ever end up with any boards hanging out there like that, I use the 2-sided foam tape.  It's about 3/16" thick foam with adhesive on both sides.  You just peel off the backing and stick it to the board and the mounting surface.  You can get it at any home improvement store.

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2009, 10:24:03 PM »
Thanks ArcMan, I have that stuff, but I wasn't thinking that was a very professional method. Although sticking my battery in a plastic container with the MCU mounted on top isnt very professional either.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2009, 11:08:41 AM »
Try the loonie store and look around for some good plastic containers, and then paint it with some acrylic paint and add your own professional design/look to it.
Kurt

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2009, 11:13:21 AM »
hah whats  a loonie store?

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2009, 11:15:30 AM »
... you can't tell me that you never went into a dollar store?
Kurt

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2009, 12:11:27 PM »
yeah i have just never heard it called a loonie store before!

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2009, 12:39:17 PM »
yeah i have just never heard it called a loonie store before!

I think it's a Canadianism

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2009, 02:35:33 PM »
Well put, I'm a Canuck, so I guess I would put it that way. Sorry 'bout that I guess my Canuck ways took over me, so how does that idea sound, eh? (the dollar store one)
Kurt

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Mounting Xbee and Adapter on robot??
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2009, 09:43:58 AM »
Velcro is better than the double sided sticky tape. The tape is semi-permanent, while the velcro will allow you to move your Xbee to the next robot (in the future, when you decide this robot is an embarrassment and must be destroyed).

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list