Author Topic: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?  (Read 2317 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« on: February 24, 2009, 05:27:46 PM »
I just finished designing my chassis for my first robot, could someone please look at it? I only have enough money for one robot, so I'm trying to make sure nothing goes horribly wrong.

It's a DWG, and the components have their respective demmensions on each's layer. Hope that makes sense.  :P

3 extra things:
1. The corner is the front left-hand side
2. The 9v battery is behind the IC board
3. There is going to be a little wheel or ball on the back, just haven't added it in yet.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2009, 08:19:15 AM »
Can you post up a pic instead? I have software to view dwg's, but kinda lazy to load it up, and few other people have the software readily installed . . .

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2009, 03:30:55 PM »
im getting a "error reading file" you got a solidworks file?
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2009, 05:27:12 PM »
Hmm. I have it in autocad 2k7, so that may be a problem. I would rather not put it in bitmap due to ease of reading and layers and such.

Anyways, I think I'm just going to order a lot of extra HDPE and wing it.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2009, 06:46:00 PM »
Anyways, I think I'm just going to order a lot of extra HDPE and wing it.

NO

you should always take the time to design properally
doing this once will get you in a habit
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline cosminprund

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
  • Helpful? 8
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2009, 01:44:40 AM »
Hmm. I have it in autocad 2k7, so that may be a problem. I would rather not put it in bitmap due to ease of reading and layers and such.

If you want help or suggestions then take the time and make it easy for people to help. At the time of this writing your topic had been viewed 120 times but your DWG was downloaded only 10 times. If that DWG was a PNG or JPG then every one that viewed your topic would have seen it and might have commented on it. I will definitively not install an DWG viewer for your sake.

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2009, 06:58:15 AM »
You dont even need to convert it to a bmp file. Just take a screen shot and paste into a paint package and save

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2009, 08:12:12 PM »
I would much rather keep it in some form of  vector.
What do you guys think about windows metafiles?

Edit: When I said I would 'wing it' I meant I would just go by my plans and if something went wrong, redesign.

Also, I am getting sick of autocad within virtualbox. I'm about to get some 1/10" graph paper and do the same job.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2009, 08:24:09 PM by z.s.tar.gz »
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline cosminprund

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
  • Helpful? 8
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2009, 12:44:22 AM »
Vector graphics are nice for YOU when you need to render at different resolutions or you need to change stuff. When you post to an forum your priorities are compatibility and ease of use. Nothing beats a JPG or a PNG file! Besides on this forum the WMF extension is not allowed, that means you'll need to zip it before you attach it, and that means one needs to download it before they see it.

Here's an random example of an other forum post that includes a picture:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=7185.0
Compare that with your post :) See how easy it is to see stuff if it's in JPG form? No need to click, no need to download, it just works.

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2009, 06:41:36 AM »
here is an easy way to make it a pic.
open up your robot in solidworks or whatever and hit 'prnt scrn'
then paste it into Paint.
Then save.
('prnt scrn' copys the current screen to the clipboard)
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: Beginner: Could someone take a look at chassis?
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2009, 02:49:36 PM »
Thanks, I really was trying to using printscreen, as I don't know if it even works. AutoCAD in Windows 2000 in Ubuntu.
I'll try it out.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

 


Get Your Ad Here