Author Topic: How hard to change sor_utils.h?  (Read 1523 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
How hard to change sor_utils.h?
« on: February 27, 2009, 08:29:35 PM »
I want to use a different MCU than the one used in the $50bot. How hard is is to change the sor_utils.h file to my new pin configuration? I'm thinking of an atmega644.

Does ponyprog etc work with it?
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: How hard to change sor_utils.h?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2009, 05:32:49 PM »
If I remember right, until.h just include all other needed libraries....
So you have to change the other libraries to meet your IC needs...
But basically... there is a pretty good similarity between MEGA cores....
So I don't even think you have to change something....

Regards,
Lefteris Greece
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: How hard to change sor_utils.h?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2009, 08:36:41 PM »
I need to change it to accomodate 40 pins, with new pinouts/ins. So, is that simply a matter of changing the names or something harder?

Actually, I'm going to take a look at it and see how much sense I can make out of it.

Edit: I can only understand a little bit. (Java is not very helpful for robots :P)
I'm just going to get a 328p and figure it out as I go.

Answer as far as I can see it: Hard for programming beginners but not impossible.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 08:54:42 PM by z.s.tar.gz »
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: How hard to change sor_utils.h?
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2009, 09:08:30 PM »
If you are compiling for a different AVR then just change the device in AVRStudio or your makefile. This will automatically change the definition of all the IO pins to suit that controller.

WinAVR and AVRlib are meant to work with any AVR processor. But this forum and most of the software publish on it is intended for either the ATMega8, ATMega168 or ATMega640.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: How hard to change sor_utils.h?
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2009, 10:36:48 PM »
The utils are easy to change. If you open up the file, you'll see instructions written on how to change it.

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: How hard to change sor_utils.h?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2009, 05:24:32 PM »
So, if I got a 644 all I have to do is change the model and I don't have to change any files?
Otherwise, which files should I take a look at. BTW, I'm trying to this from linux.

Edit: Specifically, I'm trying to use AVRDude.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2009, 05:40:16 PM by z.s.tar.gz »
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list