Author Topic: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff  (Read 2683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« on: March 03, 2009, 05:35:20 PM »
I have broken the meter thing inside of the servo but I had an old one and my dad is about to solder the wires to it. Is there a way I can combine the 3 wires together to simulate 0 degrees? PLEASE HELP!

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2009, 06:24:49 PM »
The potentiometer inside servos are very accurate, make sure you have an accurate one before you put it in.
Kurt

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2009, 06:33:54 PM »
I have a servo that was for 180 use only. I modified most of it until I broke the meter. Is there a way I can connect the wires together to make it work right?

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2009, 07:40:44 PM »
I am having a hard time trying to figure out what you mean by "meter thing". Do you mean the potentiometer?
Robots are awesome!

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2009, 07:41:19 PM »
Yes I mean potentiometer. Sorry about that.

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2009, 07:44:17 PM »
How is the potentiometer broken?
Robots are awesome!

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2009, 08:02:05 PM »
I tried to glue it, than the top of it got glued to the table, I pulled it the top came off and so did the wires. So now I have 3 wires, and I got a potentiometer from one of my old servos there were broken.

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2009, 08:41:26 PM »
You could just solder in some resistors instead of the potentiometer. See this tutorial http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/82
Robots are awesome!

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2009, 08:43:36 PM »
I don't really want to mess that much around with a servo. I don't have a small enough solder and don't have enough to buy one right now. Please, any other ideas?

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2009, 08:47:06 PM »
Well if you cant solder resistors in there, there isn't really any other way... just let your dad solder in the potentiometer.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Modify servo... help asap before my dad solders stuff
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2009, 08:52:01 PM »
He tried before you guys all replied, and he couldn't get it, it wasn't staying to the potentiometer. Could I use a 1.62K OHM 1/4W 1% Metal Film?

 


Get Your Ad Here