Author Topic: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.  (Read 7308 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« on: March 07, 2009, 01:27:26 PM »
Hi

I'm totaly beginer in robotic (but i have engenier degree in electricity).
Now i start with 50$ robot and stop on 4 ster - programming. 
My computer dont have serial ports, so i order AVR ISP MKII programmer with USB interface. (it was in tutorial required parts list)
Now i trying to programm my ATmega8, but Ponyprog supports only serial and Parallel ports... How i can programm my microcontroler? Maybe i need use diferent programm (not ponyprog?)
Pleeease help!

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 01:32:56 PM »
If you are using the AVR ISP MKII, you do not need ponyprog. In AVR Studio 4 there should be a button on the top toolbar that you click to program.

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 02:37:49 PM »
Yes, there is button Programm, but it do not connecting, it shows Connect failed - Select AVR Programmer.
Where can be problem?

Offline RiffRaff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2009, 03:05:14 PM »
If you are using AVR Studio 4, there is a connect button on the lower menu bar.... it may ask you to choose a programmer then it will bring up a window which you can use to choose your atmega8 or whatever chip you are using.  Remember to select 'board' in order to set your write speed (be sure to click on 'write' after choosing speed) at 125.0 kHZ for the atmega8.

If you don't have AVR Studio 4 installed, use the disk that came with the controller to install the software as specified in the tutorial.

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 05:42:57 PM »
If you are using AVR Studio 4, there is a connect button on the lower menu bar.... it may ask you to choose a programmer then it will bring up a window which you can use to choose your atmega8 or whatever chip you are using.  Remember to select 'board' in order to set your write speed (be sure to click on 'write' after choosing speed) at 125.0 kHZ for the atmega8.

If you don't have AVR Studio 4 installed, use the disk that came with the controller to install the software as specified in the tutorial.

When i clik connect and chose programmer, computer is thinking abaut two minutes and then shows window - "Connect failed-chose AVR programmer"...
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 05:43:49 PM by Weee »

Offline sean22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2009, 07:52:29 PM »
To use the AVR ISP MKII you need the newest version of AVR Studio (Found that out the hard way) and to select you programmer do this

Tools>Program AVR>Connect

Then select AVRISP mkII and then press connect


 
First Robotics - 2009
Canada Skills Robotics - 2009

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2009, 03:51:18 AM »
To use the AVR ISP MKII you need the newest version of AVR Studio (Found that out the hard way) and to select you programmer do this

Tools>Program AVR>Connect

Then select AVRISP mkII and then press connect


 

Version i use is - AVR Studio 4.13.571  Service Pack 2

I follow steps you whrite, but when i press "Connect" button, computer is thinking two minutes and then shows - Connect failed - Select AVR Programmer

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2009, 04:10:29 AM »
try it is win avr see if it works...but i gues  winavr doesnt suppport usb connection
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline RiffRaff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2009, 06:39:28 AM »
USB is supported.

On the second tool bar (the lower one), to the right of the text window, there are three black clickable items, click on the one marked 'con' and you should get a window which will enable you to choose your programmer.  Choose the avr isp mkII and then you will get a window with menu tabs marked 'program', 'fuses', 'lockbits', 'lockbits', 'board' & 'auto'

The 'program' tab will let you select your device, and the 'board' tab will let you select your speed.  Remember to click on 'write' after selecting your speed.  Then go back to the 'board' tab, in the box marked 'flash', to select the file you wish to upload and click on program to upload it.

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2009, 09:17:59 AM »
I found that is new version 4.14, and now it's connecting, but when i try to programm, it shows:
Setting mode and device parameters.. OK!
Entering programming mode.. FAILED!
Leaving programming mode.. FAILED!


What can be wrong?

Offline RiffRaff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2009, 09:23:13 AM »
Did you set the clock speed from the 'board' menu tab?

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2009, 09:32:23 AM »
Did you set the clock speed from the 'board' menu tab?

No, i did not. How can i do it?

Offline MrWizard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Helpful? 0
  • My cylon friend told me a killing joke......
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2009, 09:38:33 AM »
You can check with hyperterminal, whem you connect a device with USB an extra COM-port will be created , use that COM-port (like COM7, but not 1 or 2) for WInAvr

Offline RiffRaff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2009, 10:16:20 PM »
Did you set the clock speed from the 'board' menu tab?

No, i did not. How can i do it?

Before you try to upload the program, look at the menu tabs and select the one marked 'board'.  Then set your ISP Freq to 125.0 kHz.  Be sure to click on 'write' afterwards.

Also, you might want to check out the AVR tutorial.  I found it helpful.

Good luck.

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2009, 12:58:03 PM »
 

I already set 125 kHz, but problem still exist... see red narked
« Last Edit: March 09, 2009, 01:05:45 PM by Weee »

Offline WeeeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Ponyprog + AVR ISP MKII programmer.
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2009, 01:53:04 PM »
Finaly i found problem - there was mistake i solder some wires in reverse.

Thank you all for support in problem rsolving

 


Get Your Ad Here