Author Topic: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?  (Read 2572 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« on: March 08, 2009, 12:37:05 PM »
I am thinking about buying this

http://www.acroname.com/robotics/parts/H7-DISTANCE-SENSOR.html

or this one

http://www.robotshop.us/hitec-distance-sensor-1.html

and put it facing down so my robot wont go off edges. Will this be a good choice or should I get something else?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 01:55:02 PM by offy »

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 03:43:52 PM »
the second one I' watch depending on how far yu want to put it off the ground normally they have minumum measure ments where as that one doesnt have one
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 03:55:22 PM »
Is there any other way to make it have edge detecting? What other sensors could I use? It is kinda close to the ground.

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 05:20:25 PM »
well theres sonar... um you could take a touch sensor and build some typf cotraption so when its gliding across the surface in front of the bot it will keep the sensor pushed in and if the rider in front goes of an edge the senor will b released to have your robot know to say back up.... um yould let it fall put an accelorometer on it so when it senses its going down however fast on the z axis it will deploy the airbag or a small parachute perhaps.. Idk built something up to where its approx  12cm tall off the groun with an ir and have it extending out about 4 inches and looking down so if for say it notices that it can see farther than 14 cm(instead of 13 irs  accurate but just incase ) Then have it for say if it is seeing less than 12 cm it will know theres an object in the waty so then it would turn around what not whatever you want it to do... Then you culd also have another one directly above the othe ir looking straight and watching for objects in the way... I'm sure there are other sensors out here but these are the best ones well most common....

You talk as if you already have it built if so and you can post a pic it may be easier to help you
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2009, 05:28:20 PM »
Sharp has a lot of IR rangefinders, I know one has a minimum distance of 3cm which you could use.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2009, 05:46:17 PM »
I did not find any 3cm range finders. I have been looking but no luck.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2009, 05:48:32 PM »

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2009, 06:01:19 PM »
This is my robot since you wanted to see it. Also I don't think a button will work, since when it unsets it will pop out, than it will get stuck on the edge.

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2009, 06:11:26 PM »
nice job on building that anyway heres the button idea I was talking about.. it actually is kind of complicated
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 06:12:32 PM by jamort »
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2009, 06:23:09 PM »
Ya, that is kinda advance. I am going to be searching for some touch sensors that would work better and be simple to use.

I think this would work

http://www.robotshop.us/vex-bumper-switch-2.html

Maybe I will just mount this and make it so if value > treshold it will just do back and turn.

http://www.robotshop.us/sharp-gp2d120-ir-range-sensor-1.html
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 06:34:28 PM by offy »

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2009, 08:13:13 PM »
I think a micro switch would do the job.... that way they dont cost about but like 2$ you could have several different models and see which works the best....
Yeah with the ir range finder it would be a lot easier I think you will have to add a little to raise the height and make it to were its off of your base looking down another thing to factor in is what if the edge is to the right or left and your robot is coming in at an angle and also What if Its so happens you back off and go over the edge?
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2009, 08:20:30 PM »
Well how do micro switch attach to my Roboduino? And if I do buy those, I will put one on front and back.

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2009, 08:53:05 PM »
Couldnt you just use a normal IR sensor? if youre only trying to sense whether theres anything below the robot, these are the way to go.

something like this http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=246
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 08:55:16 PM by paulstreats »

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2009, 09:15:51 PM »
paulstreets
thats the reality.. but he bumper switch is a cool idea...
go here to read up on microswitchs http://www.societyofrobots.com/sensors_tactbumpswitch.shtml
as of the roboduino I have no experience with it... I could try to tell you butit maybe wrong and sometmes in electronics wrong equals more $$$ than you thought...
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2009, 12:48:01 PM »
Oh, cool. I can do that and that will work great with the roboduino. I will keep that in mind, same with the range finders and bumper switches.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: HiTEC Distance Sensor good?
« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2009, 02:13:03 PM »
Look at the MARK III robot store, they have some good edge sensors.
http://www.junun.org/MarkIII/Store.jsp

more specifically this one: http://www.junun.org/MarkIII/Info.jsp?item=50
« Last Edit: March 19, 2009, 02:15:31 PM by galannthegreat »
Kurt

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list