go_away

Author Topic: Fixing my IR  (Read 2218 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JDeschambaultTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Fixing my IR
« on: March 14, 2007, 07:32:30 PM »
Here it goes... I am on my 2nd robot. and on this one i want to use IR. I have reseached it with this web site and several others. I bought the parts build it and plugged it in to test my ciruits and see what kind of readings i would be getting. the thing is i am only getting readings 2 inches in front of it. Further I am not sure the program i wrote is giving me the readings it should or if i need to write a different program. (the Program i wrote is set up to read a photoresister.) i used the IR sensor SCHEMATICS - INFRARED EMITTER DETECTOR. and in place of the 120 ohms, used 150 and in place of the 11k used 10k. (closest i could find at the time) any help to solve this would be great...  :o
"The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance."
Socrates

Offline sdk32285

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Fixing my IR
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 07:50:08 PM »
Is the your IR sensor analog or digital. Is the photoresistor program designed to act on a value or is it thresholded to either be on or off? If you have a meter test the output of the IR sensor without being attached to the micro.
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

Offline JDeschambaultTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Fixing my IR
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 08:05:53 PM »
the Program is a 5DEC value, the IR i am not sure but if i was guessing Ang. cause it is not simply on or off. (See http://www.societyofrobots.com/schematics_infraredemitdet.shtml to see the ciruit i built)   :-\

i have a Meter but not sure How to test it, and if it should have power running through it...? ???
"The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance."
Socrates

Offline sdk32285

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Fixing my IR
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2007, 08:20:36 PM »
What type of IR sensor is it?
To test have the circuit powered and measure the voltage between Vout and GND
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

Offline JDeschambaultTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Fixing my IR
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2007, 08:42:05 PM »
obstacle detection, and i will test it once i get home tonight.
"The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance."
Socrates

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Fixing my IR
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 05:43:08 PM »
actually, for that sensor two inches sounds about right.

you have a few options . . . one would be to use more emitter LEDs, and/or brighter emitter LEDs. another other option would be to do signal modulation to remove background noise. and lastely, you could use op-amps to boost your signal.

if you want really good range, the best method is to use Sharp IR rangefinders

 


Get Your Ad Here