go_away

Author Topic: controlling robot from phone software?  (Read 6528 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
controlling robot from phone software?
« on: March 14, 2009, 06:06:25 AM »
Hello,

I'm getting a new phone from Verizon that I want to be able to control a new robot i've been designing.  I guess it would communicate with WiFi or bluetooth.  My question it does anyone know of a good phone to relay some basic commands to a robot.  I've seen some people have like custom software or something on their phone that looks like a control screen. 

Bane

Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: controlling robot from phone software?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 10:13:24 AM »
After doing some research i found that the G1 android is probable the most popular interface.  Oh well that sux, it happens that i verizon and not t-mobile :P.  I found this one http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/store/controller?item=phoneFirst&action=viewPhoneDetail&selectedPhoneId=4366 

For the G1 it looks like you can use it with the blackfin for visual...cool

Bane

Offline hgordon

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Helpful? 7
Re: controlling robot from phone software?
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 06:53:26 PM »
Exactly -

    http://code.google.com/p/srv1console/

I had to switch to T-Mobile from ATT when I got the G1, but it wasn't a big loss.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: controlling robot from phone software?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 06:58:42 PM »
Verizon's phone's only allow BREW applications which are not open source and there is no SDK that is free or cheap. AT&T and T-Mobile phones can use custom Java apps


Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: controlling robot from phone software?
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2009, 07:39:36 AM »
Nice Admin :'(  Forgot to do my research here.  I ended up getting the Sway from Verizon.  It has blue tooth and stuff, but not nearly all the cool stuff that the G1 can do.  Oh well, my next plan will be with T-mobile :D.

Thanks

Bane
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 07:48:39 AM by BANE »

Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: controlling robot from phone software?
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2009, 07:48:14 AM »
http://www.8051projects.info/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=818  this is really all i want to do
it says that it can work with nokia smartphones but nothing about the Sway :P

Bane

 


Get Your Ad Here