Author Topic: DC Motor Braking  (Read 1687 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hendrachubbyTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Helpful? 0
DC Motor Braking
« on: March 14, 2009, 07:10:22 AM »
Hello,
I'm now trying to control a dc motor, but if i stop the motor it just free and can't brake.
Anyone can help me to explain how to brake a dc motor using motor driver ? can i do it with any motor driver ?

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 08:57:47 AM »
Hello,
I'm now trying to control a dc motor, but if i stop the motor it just free and can't brake.
Anyone can help me to explain how to brake a dc motor using motor driver ? can i do it with any motor driver ?



Usually you have to set the two direction input pins of your motor controller to high:
http://itp.nyu.edu/physcomp/Labs/DCMotorControl#toc6

I you use a classic H-Bridges chip (L293 or SN754410) this should work.

Chelmi.

Offline hendrachubbyTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Helpful? 0
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 10:53:43 AM »
Is it work with any DC motor ? Is the same method with shorting the 2 terminal of motor causing it brakes ?

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 11:38:12 AM »
Is it work with any DC motor ? Is the same method with shorting the 2 terminal of motor causing it brakes ?

I would think so. What DC motor do you have ? What do you mean by "shorting the two terminal of motor?"
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 11:40:07 AM by chelmi »

Offline hendrachubbyTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Helpful? 0
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 12:28:11 PM »
I use sanyo denki DC motor, i try to connect the terminal of the motor and turn the motor with hand, i feel the motor brake acting like a generator i think.

Offline want2learn

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Helpful? 4
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2009, 01:28:52 PM »
Yes you can brake a dc motor by 'shorting' both motor terminals together although braking with an h-bridge holds the motor better
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2009, 06:02:13 AM »
Hi,

Yes you can brake a dc motor by 'shorting' both motor terminals together although braking with an h-bridge holds the motor better
How's that???
Shorting the terminals is close to zero Ohm, shunting it with an H-bridge adds two R_ds_on to the equation!
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 110
Re: DC Motor Braking
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2009, 02:47:53 PM »
You've said which motor you are using but what controller are you using?

Some controllers (like my designs in the member pages) - use a tri-state switch to switch between forward/reverse/brake.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list