2

Author Topic: How can I control the Axon from my computer?  (Read 2662 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« on: March 14, 2009, 05:10:38 PM »
My question is I am doing a robot similar to Taurus 2, but I want to make a program on my computer with 2 buttons, one of them is "Manual control" to control it via my computer and the other one is "Auto control" to make the robot automatically follow a define path. I am using the Axon. can you please Sir help in this? Thank

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 05:15:24 PM »
do you want it wired or wireless?
Howdy

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 05:54:01 PM »
I want it wireless. I want to control the Axon from my computer u sing the JAVA program to give command to make the robot drive by itself and another command to make me drive it. I am using 8 servo motors, 4 for direction and to turn in place and 4 for forward and backward direction like Taurus 2.

Thanks and appreciated

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 06:03:06 PM »
I suggest you do the research yourself and come back with more detailed questions. it will be more rewarding that way.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 07:19:07 PM »
Axon Bluetooth Tutorial

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2009, 05:01:43 PM »
Thank you Sir for your help, I appreciate it,

Actually, my question is that my robot has the same as the Taurus 2 with a slight difference is that I am using 4 DC motors for forward and backward and 4 servo motors for arc-turn and turn-in-place.
I am using the Axon Microcontroller for the robot moving system. Moreover, I made a JAVA program that has an Auto button and a Manual button.
I want to know if I can control the robot (using Radio Frequency, a remote control) so that when I press the Auto button on my JAVA program, the robot will follow a definite shape (like a line follower) and when I press the Manual button then I can control the robot from my program since I added to my program a driving buttons like: Forward, Backward, Turn-in-Place, and Arc-Turn.
So, is there an idea on how to do this and have a wireless Autonomous and Controlled robot?

Best regards Sir  :)

P.S. can we control a DC motor using the Axon?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2009, 08:43:02 PM »
Well, you need to have your Java program send serial data out when you push the buttons . . .

Quote
can we control a DC motor using the Axon?
Control, yes. Power, no. You'll need to buy motor drivers. 8 motors means you'll need 8 motor drivers. ;D

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2009, 11:09:44 PM »
cant you get dual motor driver tho?
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2009, 12:58:44 AM »
cant you get dual motor driver tho?
dual motor driver = 2 motor drivers ;D

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2009, 11:46:23 AM »
Hello Sir,

I already have my JAVA program send data through serial port and I can make through parallel port  ;), but the problem is how to make the signal coming out of the serial or parallel port reach the robot as I wanted it (to make autonomous and to control it but myself)? (Described Above).

Regards,

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2009, 04:34:56 PM »
Hello,

Sir, is the Taurus 2 in the link below, in the first video, controlled wirelessly? Or it is programmed to do so?

Thank you

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_taurus2.shtml

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2009, 09:34:53 PM »
zephyrus, see the example code for reading in UART data.

Sir, is the Taurus 2 in the link below, in the first video, controlled wirelessly? Or it is programmed to do so?
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_taurus2.shtml

Programmed.

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2009, 10:27:59 AM »
ur idea and my idea seems to be same....iam also doing th same thing except that iam using vb...oh yes i tried java...but java comm api doesnt work with windows anymore...its better if u use vb to make the gui...and design the dll file with vc++ and import it to vb then use it...iam not using serial commands here...altough i tried but my mcu didnt respondfor some reason so i changed to parallel port communiction..

any more help feel free to ask
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2009, 11:34:51 AM »
Hello everyone,

superchiku Thank you a lot for your help.

If you see the Taurus 2 in the first video in the link (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_taurus2.shtml) and its motion, I want to make the same. I mean I want to have 2 buttons on my computer one of them is Auto to make my robot go wirelessly (like a line follower) and the other one is Manual to make me control the robot myself from my program.

I donít mind using any language, I can change my JAVA program into VB, its fine with me, my problem is how to transfer the data to the Axon I have or any other servo microcontroller in order to have Manual and Auto control of my robot.

What if I use 2 servo microcontrollers? One of them program it for the Auto function and one for sending commands from my computer? But by this I will have problems with the Manual control I think, since I have to use some circuit that takes orders from my computer to make the 2 microcontroller function?

What you think?

Thanks

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: How can I control the Axon from my computer?
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2009, 01:03:08 PM »
no need fo 2 mcu's ...do it all in software...

assuming ur usin serial communication(iam using parallel)

now u need to make a program in ur robot's mcu which is gonna look for a serial command from the pc...

now suppose i assign these charactes for the following ....

char      function
------      -----------
'a'           autnomous mode-call a module in ur program which has the implementation for autonomous                  mode..

'b'          activate module which as implementation written for remote controlled mode


(if in remote controlled mode)



'c'           go forward
'd'           go backward
'e'            go left
'f'           go right







this is how u do it if u have got uart enabled...if u are gonna use parallel port communication then u dont need uart ...ur adc will do....

JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list