go_away

Author Topic: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground  (Read 2687 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« on: March 18, 2009, 04:56:04 PM »
How do you wire up the BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, and Ground?

This is the BlueSMIRF I want.
http://www.robotshop.us/sfe-bluesmirf-silver-bluetooth-modem.html

This is the layout of my microcontroller, please tell me where the wires go also
http://curiousinventor.com/images/kits/roboduino/roboduino_1_16_layout.jpg
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 05:09:26 PM by offy »

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2009, 05:53:45 PM »
give your bluesmirf voltage, ground it to the roboduino, and hook up the tx and rx lines to the roboduino.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2009, 05:56:45 PM »
But what pins on the bluesmirf go to what?

I think pin 4 is TX
I think pin 5 is RX

Also how do I plug in a single pin into a 3 pin TX and RX input?

*EDIT*
I found this on google, it shows you how to hook it up right
http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/build117.htm

But I don't know where to put the power onto my roboduino board
*EDIT*
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 06:33:03 PM by offy »

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2009, 06:35:36 PM »
The roboduino has labeled power and ground pins. Also look at the included roboduino manuals if you still need help identifying what pins do what.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2009, 06:58:33 PM »
Would I put it into the blue box in the picture, or the red box? Or am I way off?

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2009, 08:49:11 PM »
there are many options its up to you.

Give it regulated 5v from anywhere. Ground it to the Roboduino anywhere on there. There are also two places you can put it for rx/tx


Use your multimeter if your not sure. but just a hint, the blue one is regulated.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 08:50:35 PM by pomprocker »

Offline Hanoush

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2009, 02:47:26 AM »
I was wondering, Can I cut a USB cable and connect the BlueSmirf to it then connect it directly to the PC because I want to make a software reset ?
I think a USB cable have 4 wires (Vcc,GND.Tx,Rx) and powered by 3.3V right ?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2009, 04:36:16 AM »
a usb is powered by 5V ;) but im not entirely sure about the direct to pc thing.
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2009, 05:44:51 AM »
I was wondering, Can I cut a USB cable and connect the BlueSmirf to it then connect it directly to the PC because I want to make a software reset ?
I think a USB cable have 4 wires (Vcc,GND.Tx,Rx) and powered by 3.3V right ?
USB gives USB signals, NOT UART signals
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Hanoush

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2009, 08:43:04 AM »
so,I have to use something like R232 shifter ?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2009, 09:44:00 AM »
so,I have to use something like R232 shifter ?

Bluesmirf outputs TTL UART signals

Get an adapter from TTL to USB - the FT232 does that. And sparkfun.com sells a FT232 breakout board
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Wire up BlueSMIRF for TX, RX, Power, Ground
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2009, 10:09:39 AM »
so,I have to use something like R232 shifter ?

Just get a regular bluetooth dongle from like best buy or something for your PC.

 


Get Your Ad Here