go_away

Author Topic: Servo Setup GUI for Axon  (Read 1400 times)

Offline robofactorsTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Servo Setup GUI for Axon
« on: March 30, 2009, 08:09:51 AM »
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the Axon (and C coding) world, and was wondering if anyone out there had (or could) written a simple GUI/hex combo that would allow you to control a particular port on the Axon to move a servo to a particular position.  This would be useful in setting up servos to center or a known position for testing and/or assembly.  I have tried using the Roborealm module, but as their values (0-225) don't correspond to the values in C code (200~1100) it doesn't help for setting home position when coding.

I figure simple version, a dropdown to choose a port on the Axon, a COM drop down, an input box for the value, and an execute button.

Basically the Roborealm module, but using raw C code position values as opposed to the 0-255 referential values.

I hope that all made sense.

Thanks for listening to my babbling.

Marc

Offline ceruleanplains

• Helpful? 0
  • Got Wumpus?
Re: Servo Setup GUI for Axon
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 01:28:08 PM »
I wrote a VB code for an Arduino but not the Axon as I don't have that MCU.  Not what features are required other than perhaps a whole slew more servo options to control.  I'm also not sure about the initialization port control of the Axon vs. the Arduino. 

The code just assists you define center positions for your servos for that start-up run with the GUI however, it doesn't calibrate it in the code by occupying the EEPROM.  I do all that thruogh the GUI as you can just save a servo id and a nominal center position in there and control them dynamically through the GUI.