Author Topic: Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator  (Read 2441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator
« on: April 02, 2009, 04:50:12 AM »
Hello Sir,

I ordered 10 parts of the servo motor "Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator"  from Trossen Robotics.

I wonder Sir can the Axon control them all since their requirements are somehow different and how to write the code.

The servo specification is on this page:
http://www.trossenrobotics.com/dynamixel-ax-12-robot-actuator.aspx

Thank you Sir,

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2009, 04:57:18 AM »
axon should i think??? but you would have to put up the voltage to your power bus. someone else back me up on this?
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2009, 11:00:20 AM »
Yes it can, but you can only connect through the I2C connector.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 108
Re: Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2009, 11:48:06 AM »
Looking at the datasheet it would appear that the actuators could use a UART on the Axon. But rather than having separate Tx and Rx lines they just have one line and they show a diagram of the extra hardware you can add to do this. You would also need to use one digital I/O pin to control this extra hardware that switches the line between Tx and Rx. Then its just a matter of sending out the serial commands in the packet format they describe.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline zephyrusTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2009, 03:08:08 PM »
Hello,

Why using the  I2C connector?

thanks

Offline HDA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can the Axon control the Dynamixel AX-12+ Robot Actuator
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2010, 07:22:06 AM »
Hi Zephyrus have you find a solution for driving dynamixel parts ? ???

 


Get Your Ad Here