Author Topic: Serial Port Programmer  (Read 3546 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AbsoluteTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Serial Port Programmer
« on: April 10, 2009, 11:00:51 AM »
I intend on building a programmer for the $50 Robot. I have found AVR-PG1 on http://www.olimex.com/dev/.
Before I build it I have a few questions...

1. Is the schematic wired correct?
2. Where & how do you connect the ground?
3. Is this Programmer safe, Could it fry the components or my computer?
   
If anyone has built this, could you show me how?

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2009, 11:02:34 AM »
Connect all the ground symbols in the schematic and you will have connected all the grounds together.

Offline AbsoluteTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2009, 11:09:38 AM »
Connect all the ground symbols in the schematic and you will have connected all the grounds together.

Do you also connect (4 6 8 10) of the ICSP to the ground as shown in avr-icsp-10.gif ?

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2009, 11:11:15 AM »
1. Is the schematic wired correct?
2. Where & how do you connect the ground?
3. Is this Programmer safe, Could it fry the components or my computer?
If anyone has built this, could you show me how?

1. I have no doubt that the Olimex schematic is correct.
2. The ground is the short line, such as the end of the ISP pin 6 connection.
3. It is as safe as the operator. Used correctly it is safe.

Do you also connect (4 6 8 10) of the ICSP to the ground as shown in avr-icsp-10.gif ?

Yes.

Offline AbsoluteTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2009, 11:19:45 AM »
2. The ground is the short line, such as the end of the ISP pin 6 connection.

Do you also connect (4 6 8 10) of the ICSP to the ground as shown in avr-icsp-10.gif ?

Where else NOT SHOWN on the schematic is the ground connected ?

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2009, 11:31:18 AM »
Where else NOT SHOWN on the schematic is the ground connected ?

I can understand your concern or consternation. That would be all.

Another bit of help: The transistor is a general-purpose one. A 2N2222 or 2N3904 will work.

For the BZV55C5V1 is also a common 5.1 volt Zener of the 1N5338 type.


ETA: The resistor wattage: a 1/4 watt or even 1/10 watt would do fine.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2009, 11:33:38 AM by GearMotion »

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2009, 01:09:55 PM »

Where else NOT SHOWN on the schematic is the ground connected ?

I think 3.... usually left N/C
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2009, 06:03:21 PM »
Absolute: What software will you use with this circuit?

Offline AbsoluteTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2009, 08:00:19 AM »
Absolute: What software will you use with this circuit?

Ponyprog ? will that work ?

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2009, 11:55:18 AM »
Absolute: What software will you use with this circuit?

Ponyprog ? will that work ?

PonyProg works.

I built the serial port programmer from the schematic that you posted on the top of this thread. I verified that the posted schematic uses the same signals that PonyProg would expect. I made mine on a little 2" by 2" board and I used a 2x3 pin header rather than the 2x5 in the schematic.

It was quick to put together and works well with PonyProg.

ETA: The serial port I tested with connects directly to my PC motherboard. It is not a USB/serial device. I have not tested with one of those.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2009, 11:58:23 AM by GearMotion »

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2009, 12:16:23 PM »
Do USB to serial cables replicate the serial port voltage? The reason the diodes are there is to lower the voltage to an acceptable level, but if the usb to serial device runs at the 5v usb level, there will be 0v going to the programmer  :o

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2009, 12:39:02 PM »
I tried using a USB to Serial device. PonyProg did not recognize it.

Offline AbsoluteTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2009, 01:27:27 PM »
GearMotion: Great work, thanks. You a great benefit for us amateurs.

If I use a 2x5 pin header rather than the 2x3 what modifications will be made on the board you made? Is it better to use a 2x5 OR 2x3 Header for the $50 Robot?   
« Last Edit: April 11, 2009, 01:37:10 PM by Absolute »

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2009, 01:49:44 PM »
GearMotion: Great work, thanks. You a great benefit for us amateurs.

If I use a 2x5 pin header rather than the 2x3 what modifications will be made on the board you made? Is it better to use a 2x5 OR 2x3 Header for the $50 Robot?   



No problem. I'm glad I could be helpful.

For the $50 robot, the 2x5 is called out on this diagram:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/images/sbs_avr_schematic.png

All things equal, I would recommend that you stick with the 2x5 connector to match this diagram.

I chose to alter the design to use a 2x3 because of the boards that I use for AVRs. They are the "Bare Bones Boards" here: http://www.circuitgizmos.com/products/cgbbb/cgbbb.shtml and they have 2x3 connectors for ISP.


Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2009, 03:38:34 PM »
if you want to use a 6 pin (2X3) instead of the 10pin check this thread out http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=1045.0 about 3 posts down it shows conversion from 10 pin to 6 pin.
Howdy

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2009, 04:35:50 PM »
Absolute: Do you have all of the parts that you need to make this serial programmer?

Offline AbsoluteTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2009, 11:10:58 AM »
Absolute: Do you have all of the parts that you need to make this serial programmer?

Gearmotion: Yeah, i do

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2009, 03:35:53 PM »
then go for it! unless you need help?
Howdy

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: Serial Port Programmer
« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2009, 04:13:09 PM »
Absolute: Do you have all of the parts that you need to make this serial programmer?

Gearmotion: Yeah, i do

I was going to offer you a care package if you didn't. Good that you do! It should work OK for you using PonyProg.

 


Get Your Ad Here