go_away

Author Topic: Noob question  (Read 4515 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Noob question
« on: March 23, 2007, 07:40:22 PM »
I'm making  the sumo bot(one remote control and one with sensors) for the science fair at my school and i was wondering could i use another microchip because it's kinda hard to find one of those before this summer.And another question show i have an on off switch on it or something else or what?and would a ps2 controller work as a remote control?and charging NiMH battery packs i dont get how to charge them I want to know how to charge them before i buy some
« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 07:59:03 PM by roboplane2.0 »
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2007, 08:45:41 PM »
I'm making  the sumo bot(one remote control and one with sensors) for the science fair at my school and i was wondering could i use another microchip because it's kinda hard to find one of those before this summer.

Could you please clarify?  It's hard to understand what you're asking.

Quote
And another question show i have an on off switch on it or something else or what?

Are you asking if you should have an on/off switch?  If so, it's up to you.  You could just plug in your power supply every time though if you want to keep it simple.

Quote
and would a ps2 controller work as a remote control?

As a tethered control, you could probably hack it as such.  Google it.  As a true remote--i.e., untethered--good luck.  You might as well buy a real remote if that's what you're going for. 

Quote
and charging NiMH battery packs i dont get how to charge them I want to know how to charge them before i buy some

Get a universal charger.  They're pretty easy to use.  Or, just use standalone AAs.  You can stick them in a battery holder (available for example, at RadioShack).  Then you can stick them in an ordinary walmart charger, and put them in your battery holder when you're ready to use them. 
There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2007, 10:06:54 AM »
A cerebellum microcontroller is really hard to find was the first question. I accidently spelled it wrong and I dont get your answer to the on/off switch queston and a universal charge is one that can charge AA and AAA right? The one that plugs into the wall?
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Noob question
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2007, 10:58:37 AM »
Yeah, the battery charger will probably plug into the wall. Like this:

http://www.picstop.co.uk/Battery-Charger/Uniross-Compact-Fast-Charger---U0128568

If you are doing remote control, this post is pretty good, showing that you don't need a microcontroller for remote control!:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=713.0

Plus, as far as autonomy with the sumo goes, this $50 robot tutorial could be of use, and uses an avr:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/step_by_step_robot_step4.shtml

Good luck!

"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2007, 11:15:11 AM »
Thank you for the help and an rc robot doesnt need a microcontroller?And I making an rc sumo robot and an autonomous sumo bot but what microcontroller should i use instead of a cerebellum one? and where can i get all the supplies for the sumo bot and why do i need 3 servos?
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 11:54:05 AM by roboplane2.0 »
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2007, 03:58:02 PM »
Yeah, the battery charger will probably plug into the wall. Like this:

http://www.picstop.co.uk/Battery-Charger/Uniross-Compact-Fast-Charger---U0128568

This kind won't charge a battery pack. 


There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2007, 03:58:39 PM »
then what kind will?
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2007, 04:07:35 PM »
then what kind will?


Like I said, a universal charger will charge a battery pack.  http://www.all-battery.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=1351  is one example. 

Alternatively, you could get a walmart ac adaptor and figure out a way to hook it up to your battery pack.  But, you need to get the current amounts right (most people seem to think around 100mA is good). 

You don't need a cerebellum.  There are thousands of available microcontrollers on the market and boards to go with them.  The cerebellum is a development board for a particular PIC microcontroller.  As has been mentioned, you ought to consider the AVR's.  They have a free C compiler written for them.  If you have absolutely no electronics experience, I recommend the arduino - www.arduino.cc (get the "NG" board, available at www.sparkfun.com). 

There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2007, 04:17:42 PM »
thank you and i have no experience at all so I'm hoping I'll learn to design my own robot after a while and are arduinos good for a sensor(Sharp IR sensor)? and why do I need 3 servos to make the sumo bot on http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_sumo.shtml? and wheres the NG board on spark.com?
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 04:29:46 PM by roboplane2.0 »
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2007, 04:32:27 PM »
thank you and i have no experience at all so I'm hoping I'll learn to design my own robot after a while and are arduinos good for a sensor(Sharp IR sensor)? and why do I need 3 servos to make the sumo bot on http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_sumo.shtml?


Most microcontrollers can interface with a sharp IR sensor, so asking whether a particular microcontroller is good for a sensor is a very broad question indeed.  It strikes me that the best thing you can do is to first look on the web for electronics tutorials, basic introductions to microcontrollers and sensors, and basic tutorials on robot design.  For example, start by reading as many tutorials on this website as you can.  Then come back to the forum.  You'll have more focused questions. 
There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2007, 04:35:04 PM »
this is my question why does it say i need 3 servos and have only too wheels?
thank you and i have no experience at all so I'm hoping I'll learn to design my own robot after a while and are arduinos good for a sensor(Sharp IR sensor)? and why do I need 3 servos to make the sumo bot on http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_sumo.shtml? and wheres the NG board on spark.com?
and how do i program a  microcontroller
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 04:47:15 PM by roboplane2.0 »
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2007, 05:08:04 PM »
this is my question why does it say i need 3 servos and have only too wheels?

and how do i program a  microcontroller

the third servo is used for the ir sensor. 

steps to programming a microcontroller:
1. write the code, usually in C, but also possible in asm, basic, etc.
2. download it to the microcontroller using a special cable called a programmer. 
There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2007, 05:12:00 PM »
thank you nowonder it moves around =) how i write in C code?and i dont see the "NG" I/O board on spark.com
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 06:27:03 PM by roboplane2.0 »
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2007, 07:37:40 PM »
thank you nowonder it moves around =) how i write in C code?and i dont see the "NG" I/O board on spark.com

google "c tutorial"

it's under development tools > arduino
There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2007, 09:04:20 PM »
thank you  and its not under development tools and all that its not there
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 09:36:57 PM by roboplane2.0 »
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

Offline trigger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's an op amp, not a gun part.
Re: Noob question
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2007, 09:55:56 PM »
thank you  and its not under development tools and all that its not there


Here it is:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=666

Sorry about that--it was there, but under "Arduino USB Board," not "Arduino NG."  But if you look at the picture, it says arduino ng on the board.  :)
There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who can read binary, and those who can't.

Offline roboplane2.0Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
  • Henry the Robot
Re: Noob question
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2007, 10:43:40 PM »
i was confused for a minute and programming is hard  ;D
If you're a Halo Fan, click here http://www.freewebs.com/halowireless/forum.htm.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list