go_away

Author Topic: rc robot with arm  (Read 1819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
rc robot with arm
« on: April 29, 2009, 10:04:02 AM »
hi,
 i hav thought about a robot which needs 8 servos (3 each for 2 arms and 2 for the car).the whole robot is rc . i wnt a cheap  transmitter and reciever  which could control the robot.ca nanybody please help me.

i hav another query ,i need cameras on the robot which could give me the visual output in a display or my laptop.can anybody help me on this issue.


regards,
Gaurav Parida
PS-well the camera may need 2 motors for pan and tilt feature.so,total no of motors will be 10 or i may even use multiple cameras.pls anybody help ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???i am in grave problem   
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 10:17:15 AM »
There are cheap wireless digital cameras on eBay, you can get them for under $50 usd shipped.

RC radios with more than 8 channels are very expensive, and also will not be able to "mix" channels.

A better alternative may be to use a cheaper 4 channel radio, use a microcontroller to read the signals, and control the 8 (or 10) servos accordingly.

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 08:29:26 PM »
well i m new to robotics so,can anybody explain  "A better alternative may be to use a cheaper 4 channel radio, use a microcontroller to read the signals, and control the 8 (or 10) servos accordingly."the above statement more more easily
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 02:11:05 PM »
what I think he means is that you have a 4 channel transmitter/receiver and instead of hooking up the outputs straight to the servo you hook them up to MCU (micro controller unit) and based on what signals you send with the transmitter the MCU will carry out a certain operation, be it when u point the stick up, it changes which servo you are controlling at the time, instead of just directly controlling the servo. you would hook up the servos to the MCU instead of the receiver 
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2009, 11:12:59 AM »
well from which port  will i attach the MCU with the reciever and how will i control so many motors just using 4 channel rc????
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2009, 12:19:15 PM »
first of all you will need a MCU with 10+ outputs for servos and atleast 4 inputs.
you will attach the reciever to the 4 inputs and the 10 servos to the output spots.
you could then have it so that for every 2 seconds you hold one of the sticks up (rotates in the other direction for down) (I am assuming that this is a dual stick R/C transmitter) it rotates which servo you are controlling on the side to side to side motion. same with the other stick. so now you can controll all 10 servos, just not at once. I am sorry but I cannot provide you with the code to do this.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2009, 05:16:15 AM »
so programming will  be needed............now i can get the clear picture .thanx a lot for ur replies.

Regards,
Gaurav Parida
(PS-can't i use a 9 or higher channeled RC transmitter and receiver to avoid the hassle of programming  )
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2009, 05:33:29 AM »
(PS-can't i use a 9 or higher channeled RC transmitter and receiver to avoid the hassle of programming  )
yep, but they are quite pricey, even for robotics...
Howdy

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2009, 06:34:22 AM »
definately to pricy for me
$300+
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2009, 09:18:50 AM »
should i use two 6 channel RC transmitter   with different crystals?if yes how is this one-http://www.robotmarketplace.com/products/0-GWS-GWT6A.html
and in cas of receiver how is this one- http://www.robotmarketplace.com/products/0-GWR6NII75F.html
wat batteries should i use -NimH OR NiCD OR LiPoly

in case of any other better website ,please give me the link  .
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2009, 02:27:33 PM »
if you mean use two sets of transmitters then yes, you probably could.... but then its just going to get annoying!
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: rc robot with arm
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2009, 08:49:05 PM »
i agree  that using 2 transmitters will be annoying but  i am ready to use because my expenditure is decreasing .can anyone suggest about the batteries and th e RC gear(which i chose )is good enough or thre is any other better  alternative ?
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

 


Get Your Ad Here