Author Topic: Reflow Oven  (Read 2647 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JonHylandsTopic starter

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Reflow Oven
« on: March 29, 2007, 04:19:13 AM »
Well, I don't know if anyone here is interested, but I put together a nice little reflow oven over the past couple weeks... You can read about it (and see pictures) in the last few posts of my blog:

http://www.huv.com/blog

I plan on making a lot of surface mount boards over the next few months, so this should help a lot...

- Jon

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Reflow Oven
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2007, 05:45:54 AM »
nice job.
What does that oven do vs the normal unmodded version.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline JonHylandsTopic starter

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Re: Reflow Oven
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2007, 08:34:33 AM »
Well, it runs a temperature profile to do surface mount soldering.

If you look at the data sheet for most surface mount parts, they include a temperature profile for reflow soldering. The AVR controller uses a thermocouple (which is a temperature probe) and a relay to run a feedback control loop.

- Jon

Offline snow

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Reflow Oven
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2007, 08:48:26 AM »
Nice job!

Do you have any pictures of any products you did with oven?

How do you manage compensation of thermocouple cold junction?

Offline JonHylandsTopic starter

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Re: Reflow Oven
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2007, 09:04:56 AM »
I haven't done any yet - the boards I ordered for my IMU will be ready tomorrow, so I will start building boards with it hopefully on the weekend.

As far as the thermocouple goes, I just plugged it into the AD595 directly. Is there something else that is needed?

- Jon

Offline snow

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Reflow Oven
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2007, 11:29:32 AM »
Ahh should have a look at your page before asking stuping questions. Yes AD595 is the answer :)

Offline nanob0t

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 145
  • Helpful? 0
  • Trust Your Technolust
Re: Reflow Oven
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2007, 01:28:46 PM »
Very cool !  I wish I could make one, but only being 16 I do not have enough credits  :(

I have the general idea of the reflow oven, but does it automatically do it?   I don't understand it much, looks like a toaster oven.  Perhaps I'll google it.


-=-=- Edit -=-=-

Okay.  I know what they are now.  That's extremely cool, it would have beat trying to solder an amp I made together.  Just paste it and run it through.  Pretty neat.  Can I have it?   ::)
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 01:41:02 PM by nanob0t »

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list