go_away

Author Topic: some error...  (Read 4309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline razvanc_roroTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Helpful? 0
some error...
« on: March 29, 2007, 11:44:21 AM »
Hi there!
Nice work you did there with that "~"50$ robot... some kind of atraction for new ones in programming and electronics... like ME. I did what it was said in the tutorial about programming, and at the first "Build" (or "Rebuild All") I get this error:

       gcc plug-in: Error: Object file not found on expected location E:\Work\AVRProjects\Photovore_v1\Photovore_v1.elf
       Make sure your makefile specifies the output .elf file as Photovore_v1.elf

I don't know where to start and even where to look at...
Need advice.

Thank you!
Try do your best without doing anything! Possible?!?

Offline nanob0t

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 145
  • Helpful? 0
  • Trust Your Technolust
Re: some error...
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2007, 01:03:35 PM »
Well, I'm unfamiliar with the "50$ robot project", but it seems to me like you are missing some part your assembler needs to operate.  It is missing an object, or a file that it requires to operate, perhaps interpret the code.


For example:
If I program a PIC 4431 chip, I have to include linker files and such to be able to build the code and place it in the specific chip.

Along with linker files, you may need to add certain library or assembler files to that specific file folder. 

I don't know if this is correct.  If not, maybe you learned something  ;D


Offline JesseWelling

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Helpful? 0
  • Only You Can Build A Robot!
Re: some error...
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2007, 04:00:06 PM »
Quote
Make sure your makefile specifies the output .elf file as Photovore_v1.elf
Sounds to me like you should look at the "makefile" or "Makefile" then look for anything .elf and if
you can't find a Photovore_v1.elf any where in there you need to figure out what you need to do to add it.
I havn't looked at the $50 robot project but I might later tonight.....
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 04:01:03 PM by JesseWelling »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: some error...
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2007, 03:48:35 PM »
the .elf thing is just a confusing error message as the problem has nothing to do with elves (or elf files). it definitely has something to do with the makefile or the way something was named. i got this error a lot too when i was trying to first figure this out myself.

make sure you did this:
"the project file name must be the same name as the initial file. There is a 'feature' (bug) in AVR Studio that will cause you problems otherwise."

so when you created a project file in AVR Studio, make sure it is named Photovore_v1

the makefile MUST be in the same directory as your project file and main file, too (even tho it gives you an option to change it, dont, its a 'feature').

if this doesnt fix it, let me know . . . im on travel so it may take a bit to figure this one out . . . has anyone else followed the tutorial with no problems compiling?

Offline razvanc_roroTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Helpful? 0
Re: some error...
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2007, 10:03:07 AM »
                  make: Interrupt/Exception caught (code = 0xc00000fd, addr = 0x423ed3)
                  Build succeeded with 0 Warnings...

I've succeded! I saw that there wasn't any "Photovore_v1.elf" file in the archive and I've made a file named this way from a ".txt". And then "Rebuild All" and "Build" the project.
Done!
Thanks everyone who read my notice and specially those who replyed me. :)
Now... the next step! I'll keep you informed.
Try do your best without doing anything! Possible?!?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: some error...
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2007, 03:17:45 PM »
hmmmm are you sure it produced a valid .hex file?

never seen that error before . . .

Offline razvanc_roroTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Helpful? 0
Re: some error...
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2007, 11:17:47 AM »
Hmmm.... don't know... I didn't test it on the robot, because right now I have all the parts needed. I have to build the robot 1rst  ;D
Hope I'll do it...
Keep in touch!
Try do your best without doing anything! Possible?!?

Offline newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Helpful? 0
Re: some error...
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2008, 09:19:13 AM »
i have the same error but i can't solve it.... how, admin, any ideas?? ::) ??? ;)
thank you

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: some error...
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2008, 09:31:45 AM »
make sure the target in your makefile says Photovore_v1

make sure your avr studio project is called Photovore_v1

make sure the makefile is in the same directory as your Photovore_v1.aps file

make sure you have the proper mcu selected in avr studio (tools -> select platform?)

I think when you select "Rebuild All" it does a make clean first, but try selecting "Clean" and then "Rebuild All"


Offline newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Helpful? 0
Re: some error...
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2008, 02:50:51 AM »
these are my steps to bulid it, are there any error?

1. download the zip source code for the photovore. Creat a folder name My_Robots in C drive.
2. open the avr studio.press new project, press avr gcc, type Photovore_v1 in the project name and uncheck the initial file(do not tick the initial file but tick the create folder). Location is C:\My_Robots\.
3. Press next and press AVR Simulator and select Atmega 8. Press Finish.
4. Unzip the source file and copy all the files and paste it to C:\My_Robots\Photovore_v1.
5. Right click source file and add existing file, select Photovore_v1.c and Right click header file and add existing file, select SoR_Utils.h.
6. click project>configuration option, click external make file and put C:\My_Robots\Photovore_v1\makefile, press ok.
7. press rebuild all.

get the gcc plug-in error at last ..... :-\ :-[ :'( :(
   

 


Get Your Ad Here