go_away

Author Topic: Recommend a multimeter  (Read 2561 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jaabotTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Recommend a multimeter
« on: May 03, 2009, 07:44:13 PM »
I am on my way to Radio Shack tomorrow. Can anyone recommend a good multimeter? Is Radio Shack the best place to go or should I order online somewhere?

Thanks.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 12:38:56 AM »
most multimeters will do you fine as long as they have:
voltage reading,
current reading,
resistance reading,
continuity setting
and maybe a capacitance setting...
radioshack should have these things but im Australian so i don't know that much about radioshack...
Howdy

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 02:48:31 AM »
If you have the bucks, see if it can connect to a PC for data logging...
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline jaabotTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 07:21:56 AM »
OK, I will look for those features. Thanks.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 03:04:22 PM »
just make sure you get a decent one ;)
Howdy

Offline jaabotTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2009, 04:29:37 PM »
Decided to splurge. I went to Radio Shack and they had one that had all of the above features including the PC Interface.

http://www.radioshack.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=22-812&origkw=22-812&sr=1

Now I just have to learn how to use it...  ;D

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2009, 12:52:23 AM »
man that is an expensive one! mine is like 5 years old and cost about $20us! but i don't use it for anything much...
great score mate!
Howdy

Offline jaabotTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2009, 07:17:19 AM »
Yeah, I have defiantely spent more than $50 on the this robot... I didn't have any electronics tools when I started. I had to buy soldering irons, desoldering iron, nippers, the multimeter... $$$

The only thing I had already was wire strippers. Oh well. Now I have everything for the next one will. :)

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2009, 02:30:26 PM »
hah, when i first got into robotics all i had was a corroded soldering iron and a multimeter....
now i have tonnes of stuff ;D oh and maybe a drill...
ive only just recently bought all my stuff, but it was worth it to spend more and get the better stuff.
Howdy

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2009, 03:54:06 PM »
You'll find yourself after many years that things will start to collect, you'll even find yourself buying tools that you may not use for a number of years.
Kurt

Offline jaabotTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2009, 04:51:21 PM »
Yeah, it was the same for me with home improvement. I had a screwdriver and an exacto knife when i bought my first house. Now I have all the cool toys: miter saw, compressor, nail guns, all sorts of hand tools, etc...

Time to do the same for electronics/robotics now. :)

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2009, 12:28:09 AM »
Yeah, it was the same for me with home improvement. I had a screwdriver and an exacto knife when i bought my first house. Now I have all the cool toys: miter saw, compressor, nail guns, all sorts of hand tools, etc...

Time to do the same for electronics/robotics now. :)
you lucky bastard ;D damn i hope i can get those when im older!
Howdy

Offline jaabotTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2009, 08:45:01 AM »
 ;D

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2009, 02:38:59 PM »
i have one hacksaw, two hammers, one drill with heaps of bits, file, screwdrivers and that's about it! but sometimes i get access to my schools shops so i can make parts which is good too ;)
Howdy

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2009, 05:26:39 PM »
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103176
this is mine.
don't gen a bad one as it will bite you in the butt later (month later- "shoot I need to measure amps! I wish I got the better one...)
thats what happend to me. BEWARE that you MUST switch the + lead to the other hole to measure amps. will blow the meter if you dont.

also my dad lets me use his tools so I am lucky. billions of screw drivers, hammers, pliers, cresent wrenches, jigsaw (well thats actually mine) really good saws, tons of nails.
then theres my computer tools kit...
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #15 on: May 07, 2009, 12:57:34 AM »
mine cant measure amps ;D i just go in to school and use either the ones in my science lab or the ones in the electronics room...
if i ever do something with electronics as a career i will start to invest in this kinda stuff...
Howdy

Offline unicoder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #16 on: May 07, 2009, 01:02:40 AM »
https://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_200326546_200326546

is the one i use. Mainly because it was free. I won it at skillsUSA
Industrial Electrician / Maintenance / Motor Controls / PLC's : 3572 hours logged.
C++, C#, MASM32 profficient. Experienced (5 years) DirectX / HLSL / General Graphics and IK programmer.

Offline lanamor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #17 on: May 07, 2009, 01:04:24 PM »
Hey I was looking for a multimeter the other day and one of the things I noticed was that most of them only measured up to 10A or current. Most of the motors I see for medium and larger platforms can draw more then double that as stall. I just wondered if 10 amps was enough or am I missing something?

Offline unicoder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #18 on: May 07, 2009, 01:54:52 PM »
you wont find many small electronics motor applications that will need more than 10Amp measurements. Multimeters like the one I mentioned above are used for industrial AC application using Clamp Meters instead of leads. Mine is rated for 1000 Amps AC current.

helpful tidbit. 1hp = 746 watts. 
1 hp @ 277 volts = 2.6 amps
1 hp @ 480 volts = 1.5 amps
« Last Edit: May 07, 2009, 02:00:26 PM by unicoder »
Industrial Electrician / Maintenance / Motor Controls / PLC's : 3572 hours logged.
C++, C#, MASM32 profficient. Experienced (5 years) DirectX / HLSL / General Graphics and IK programmer.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2009, 02:50:24 PM »
1000A, wow... mine is rated for something like 550A only :( but then again its from the stone age ;D
Howdy

Offline unicoder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2009, 06:40:38 PM »
Haha during the day. Im one of those people that has to work on things like 2000 amp switchgears and 50 hp motors etc. Its nice to not have one thatll blow up in my face :PPPP
Industrial Electrician / Maintenance / Motor Controls / PLC's : 3572 hours logged.
C++, C#, MASM32 profficient. Experienced (5 years) DirectX / HLSL / General Graphics and IK programmer.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2009, 01:47:55 AM »
better safe than sorry mate :P
Howdy

Offline lanamor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Recommend a multimeter
« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2009, 06:54:05 AM »
you wont find many small electronics motor applications that will need more than 10Amp measurements.

Well, almost all the Banebot motors seem to draw more than 10A at stall. I know this because I've been looking for a pair of motors to drive a differential robot weighing about 20-25 lbs.

 


Get Your Ad Here