go_away

Author Topic: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)  (Read 3849 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« on: May 06, 2009, 07:30:42 PM »
Ya i want to make Project S.Y.T.H wireless for a future update and i never worked wireless before just wondering will these 2 work im sure it will ^_^

http://www.makershed.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=MKAD13&CartID=1

http://www.makershed.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=MKAD14&CartID=2

but the main question is to i need to buy 2 adapters i no i have to buy 2 Xbees

one more thing do i need 2 ardiuno or can i use like a bredboard?? (my friend has a arduino hes the one working on S.Y.T.H with me) so if we need 2 arduinos i will make him buy the other set

or can i use 2 wii controllers? If that is possible because they our bluetooth i just saw a robot having one on it so i thought i should ask..
« Last Edit: May 06, 2009, 07:43:34 PM by AdvsNoob »

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 07:53:11 PM »
well you need a adapter for each xbee so I would say yes and you would need a xbee on each end but I have no experience on this so I have now way to be sure.
Quote
or can i use 2 wii controllers? If that is possible because they our bluetooth i just saw a robot having one on it so i thought i should ask..

I don't understand what you are asking
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 09:05:46 PM »
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1180758208

i dont know how to do it but if you still dont understand you know the first question


all i want it to do it when i press a button (most likley a pushbutton) it will send via bluetooth or wireless to the arduino on S.Y.T.H telling it to run its program and find the player

it will do this by GPS but i have that part worked out

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 01:06:33 AM »
wii controllers have bluetooth now? nonono, they have infared! the guy you were looking at had an external bluetooth module i think? was that the flame sensing robot?
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2009, 01:17:42 AM »
No that was on another video but the link I posted above said I need a bluetooth adaptor to plug into my computer and then connect the controller to it, and I beleave it is bluetooth because people connect bluetooth to there computers to make a "wii controlled mouse"

Am I wrong?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2009, 01:23:45 AM »
wiimote has no kind of bluetooth built in...
it does however have infared built in...
i am not too sure on how it communicates with the sensor bar as of yet.
to get one thing straight...
you will need a bluetooth module with uart or some other way to connect to your mcu like the bluesmirf.
then on the other end you can have a normal dongle...
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2009, 01:27:31 AM »
Ok ima forget about the wii set-up right now because I had a nunchuck plugged in to my arduino and it was a pain getting to move a servo.. Not sure if it will be the same for bluetooth but ya..

What about the Xbee, how many do I need or is there a cheeper way of doing this that is reliable??

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2009, 01:31:03 AM »
me thinks you would probably need two xbee modules, one at each end...
you could however look into bluesmirf as they are much cheaper and you can connect straight to your pc..
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2009, 01:42:12 AM »
Hmm not reallt going to connect to a pc it will be on a wrist band that I am making that will be able to start S.Y.T.H and stop it.

What I am trying to say it will start the loop with a press of a button and then the robot will go on and find the play via GPS which will be on the wrist band

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2009, 01:49:05 AM »
are you sure gps will work well with this application? i have heard most gps within hobby price range are only accurate to >10m. also, consider cost of the xbee and bluesmirf... if you aren't interfacing with a pc xbee may be the way to go, although it is more expensive...
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2009, 07:32:20 AM »
i guess i will be using that and i heard of a really good gps i just have to find it

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2009, 09:16:03 AM »
wiimote has no kind of bluetooth built in...

Damn SmAsH, before giving a definitive answer like that, CHECK YOUR SOURCE ! :p
The Wiimote uses bluetooth to communicate with the Wii (or a PC).
Infrared is used for the "pointing sensor"

Chelmi.

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2009, 02:04:50 PM »
HAHA!
AdvsNoob SUPER SMART!!!!!

thanks chelmi

FYI: You no how to use it?


and SmASH thanks for the other posts aswell

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2009, 02:11:39 PM »
wii remote??? bluetooth???
now thats awesome
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2009, 02:48:25 PM »
oh shizzles... sorry if im kinda out of it lately, ive been screwed over staying up late studying for my major exams...
Howdy

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #15 on: May 07, 2009, 02:52:49 PM »
FYI: You no how to use it?


I never did it myself and actually don't own a Wii, but you can find information and pointers on Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wii_homebrew#Reuse_of_the_Wii_Remote_on_other_platforms

oh shizzles... sorry if im kinda out of it lately, ive been screwed over staying up late studying for my major exams...


What are you doing on SOR then!? Go back to work! :D actually it's good to take a break sometimes :p

Chelmi

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #16 on: May 07, 2009, 02:56:41 PM »
You could just use the little $5 RF modules sparkfun sells, perfect for simple things like this.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #17 on: May 07, 2009, 03:03:22 PM »
SoR is my break! every hour or so ill put on some metal and go on SoR for 20-30 mins.
and advsnoob, if you look around there are tonnes of sites where people have a blog or something about them hacking wiimote to control something, i think hackaday may have a few...
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #18 on: May 07, 2009, 07:44:16 PM »
i tried that it is all like nunchuck stuff which i already did and im not trying to communicate to the computer, i am trying to get it to talk to another arduino

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2009, 08:08:08 PM »
well then you will need 2 xbees & adapters
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2009, 09:29:47 PM »
FINALLY!  ;D

Thanks you!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2009, 01:51:22 AM »
hah, is that all you wanted then?
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2009, 10:53:43 AM »
Yes that is why i said this earlyer...


Quote
Ok ima forget about the wii set-up right now because I had a nunchuck plugged in to my arduino and it was a pain getting to move a servo.. Not sure if it will be the same for bluetooth but ya..

What about the Xbee, how many do I need or is there a cheeper way of doing this that is reliable??

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #23 on: May 08, 2009, 03:37:53 PM »
btw, did you just use a cut open extension cord to plug it in to the roboduino or make a custom connector?
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #24 on: May 08, 2009, 07:03:49 PM »
for what?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #25 on: May 08, 2009, 07:33:41 PM »
the nunchuck, you said you plugged it into the roboduino, how?
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #26 on: May 08, 2009, 10:07:39 PM »
oh lol, all i did was take the nunchuck and cut off the end that goes into the motion controller, there our 4 wire, green white yellow and red

green goes into analog 5 yellow analog 4 white ground red power.

Then go to the arduino site and you can use the sample code there or make on like i did, ill try to find it so i can post it

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #27 on: May 08, 2009, 10:24:15 PM »
wow, i didn't know it was that easy!
i might have to borrow my friends wii sometime ;D
Howdy

Offline AdvsNoobTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #28 on: May 08, 2009, 11:09:55 PM »
LOL and its fun!

I was plating with it for like 30mins-1hour ^_^

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Arduino going wireless (Xbee)
« Reply #29 on: May 09, 2009, 06:11:18 AM »
thats pretty cool
I didn't know this stuff was so simple
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list