go_away

Author Topic: microcontroller board  (Read 2456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
microcontroller board
« on: May 06, 2009, 08:02:07 PM »
hi-
I have a BS2 board of education and am wanting to upgrade to a c programmable board/microcontroller. what would you recomend?
plz keep the price small too
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 08:23:51 PM »
How about $50 robot board  ::) or one of these for breadboarding http://www.active-robots.com/products/controllr/atmel-avr.shtml
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2009, 01:07:55 AM »
$50 robot board!
its cheap and can have almost everything that the arduino/roboduino has.
or if you prefer not to make it, the roboduino is a great choice!
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 05:30:10 AM »
I know that
I tried to build one but mine just wont work
solderings fine
voltage out of the regulator
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2009, 05:33:04 AM »
well, there must be something wrong or else it would work ;)
can you take some pics with something better than that webcam?
Howdy

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2009, 11:24:39 AM »
I'm gonna plug this:

http://www.circuitgizmos.com/products/cgbbb/cgbbb.shtml





It is a lot easier to assemble than the $50 robot board, just not quite as cheap. The $50 robot board is good if you are comfortable putting it together that way. The board pictured above just might be easier for some people.

And you can use the Arduino development system to write in C (with libraries) for free!

The board/kit above is $14.99.


Offline aludra_55

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Helpful? 0
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2009, 11:46:27 AM »
wow!.. that looks really good.. and pretty cheap too!!!    ;D

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2009, 01:50:33 PM »
I think I might have fryed the atmega so first I will get a new one of those.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline aludra_55

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Helpful? 0
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2009, 02:15:46 PM »
before you do, just double check them... they're usually pretty durable...
double check your connections especially the positive and negative terminals...

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2009, 02:41:33 PM »
and how would I do that?
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2009, 02:46:34 PM »
erm, multimeter.... continuity setting, or resistance...
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2009, 06:53:47 PM »
no I mean like what pins, ect.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2009, 07:13:08 PM »
You can't, you have to flash a program in it and see if all the ports work.

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2009, 08:05:59 PM »
well then what program!
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline tralfam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2009, 08:31:01 PM »
I like the Cerebot II from Digilent. I also have an Arduino, but the Arduino is not nearly as good as the Cerebot in my opinion.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #15 on: May 07, 2009, 08:52:11 PM »
Just make a program that turns all the ports high and low constantly (and put leds on the ports to see if they are working)

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2009, 06:11:27 AM »
ok
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2009, 07:16:48 PM »
can someone explain if this would work/what it is?
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=29
« Last Edit: May 08, 2009, 07:18:32 PM by dellagd »
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2009, 07:28:35 PM »
its a dev board that has all that stuff like programmer header, power jack etc.. on the board
it allows you to develop things with the microcontroller easier.
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2009, 07:29:38 PM »
so its basically a $50 board but with no I/O pins on it?
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2009, 10:00:53 AM »
so its basically a $50 board but with no I/O pins on it?

It is like the $50 board, with a serial port.

Description: Prototype board for 28 pin AVR microcontrollers with with power supply circuit, crystal oscillator circuit, RS232 port, reset IC, status LED, and 10 pin STK ICSP port.

Works with Mega48/88/168

Has a reset IC, rather than just a pull up resistor

Has a crystal - 8 MHz - easy to change

10 pin ISP instead of the 6 pin ISP


Freatures:

    * STK200 compatible ICSP 5x2 pin connector for in-circuit programming with AVR-PG1 or AVR-PG2
    * RS232 Tx, Rx interface with MAX232 IC on socket
    * 8 MHz crystal on socket (user replacable)
    * Reset IC ZM33064
    * Reset button
    * General purpose push button
    * Status LED connected to PC5 via removable jumper
    * DIL28 microcontroller socket
    * Power plug-in jack
    * Selectable +3.3V / +5V power supply voltage regulator
    * Extension pin headers for each uC pin
    * Four mounting holes 3.3 mm (0.13")
    * GND bus
    * Vcc bus


The jury is still out on what "Freatures" are, but if these were "features" they would be OK features. :-) You get a serial port, but otherwise your i/o ports on the microcontroller are free for you to do with as you please.

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2009, 02:08:14 PM »
Quote from: parallax BS2 compiler
Syntax: PULSIN Pin, State, Variable

Function
Measure the width of a pulse on Pin described by State and store the result in Variable.

Pin is a variable/constant/expression* (0 - 15) that specifies the I/O pin to use. This pin will be set to input mode.
State is a variable/constant/expression* (0 - 1) that specifies whether the pulse to be measured is low (0) or high (1). A low pulse begins with a 1-to-0 transition and a high pulse begins with a 0-to-1 transition.
Variable is a variable (usually a word) in which the measured pulse duration will be stored. The unit of time for Variable is described below.

*  Note: Expressions are not allowed as arguments on the BS1. The range of the Pin argument on the BS1 is 0 - 7.


Quick Facts
  BS1 BS2, BS2e, and BS2pe BS2sx, BS2p, and BS2px
Units in Variable 10 Ás 2 Ás 0.8 Ás
Maximum pulse width 655.35 ms 131.07 ms 52.428 ms


Explanation
PULSIN is like a fast stopwatch that is triggered by a change in state (0 or 1) on the specified pin. The entire width of the specified pulse (high or low) is measured, in units shown above and stored in Variable.

Many analog properties (voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle) can be measured in terms of pulse duration. This makes PULSIN a valuable form of analog-to-digital conversion.

PULSIN will wait for the desired pulse, for up to the maximum pulse width it can measure, shown in the table above. If it sees the desired pulse it measures the time until the end of the pulse and stores the result in Variable. If it never sees the start of the pulse, or the pulse is too long (greater than the Maximum Pulse Width shown above), PULSIN "times out" and store 0 in Variable. This operation keeps your program from locking-up should the desired pulse never occur.

Regardless of the size of Variable, PULSIN internally uses a 16-bit timer. Unless the pulse widths are known to be short enough to fit in an 8-bit result, it is recommended using a word-sized variable. Not doing so may result in strange and misleading results as the BASIC Stamp will only store the lower 8-bits into a byte variable.


yep
basic has a pulsein command
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: microcontroller board
« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2009, 04:55:16 PM »
I think using that dev board would be a lot easier than soldering up on a proto board like the $50 robot... maybe it could be added to the tutorial.

 


Get Your Ad Here