go_away

Author Topic: Mega644 board  (Read 5533 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,855
  • Helpful? 53
Mega644 board
« on: May 10, 2009, 11:26:09 AM »
The ATmega644 is the most powerful ATmega in DIP package, so I decided to make a little development board out of it.



The ft232 USB chip is also on a removable breakout board. So now if the two "big" chips ever fry I won't have to replace the entire board  ;D

Offline ZRobot

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 02:16:10 AM »
good idea! It's easier than making an arduino board?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,696
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2009, 03:49:17 PM »
This is my ATmega644 board, not sure if you've seen this vid yet or not. Its also the Axon alpha version.

Accelerometer Demo

Offline sonictj

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 08:30:54 PM »
The ATmega1284 just came out and it has the exact same pin out.  In addition to that the chip has more flash and sram, and probably eeprom.  There is a neat pcb style board called the sanguino that also uses the ATmega644p (could use 1284).  The board is set up to use a usb ftdi cable instead of a usb B cable. 

http://sanguino.cc/

This is the board I used in my firefighting robot woody.

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=7653.0

« Last Edit: May 13, 2009, 08:33:26 PM by sonictj »

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 08:39:55 AM »
The ATmega1284 just came out and it has the exact same pin out.  In addition to that the chip has more flash and sram, and probably eeprom.  There is a neat pcb style board called the sanguino that also uses the ATmega644p (could use 1284).  The board is set up to use a usb ftdi cable instead of a usb B cable. 

http://sanguino.cc/

This is the board I used in my firefighting robot woody.

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=7653.0



According to DigiKey it won't be available until July. Do you know other places where it is already available?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,696
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2009, 10:16:51 AM »
mouser.com has them

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2009, 11:39:21 AM »
mouser.com has them

I made a mistake in my previous email, I actually meant Mouser instead of DigiKey.
Availability: on order, Estimated Ship Date 07/08/2009

On DigiKey the quantity available is 0.

Offline sonictj

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2009, 01:31:27 PM »
Quote
I made a mistake in my previous email, I actually meant Mouser instead of DigiKey.
Availability: on order, Estimated Ship Date 07/08/2009

My bad I hadn't tried to buy any but I thought they were already available.  Well at least any dev board you use with the 644 will be upgradable by a simple chip swap later on.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2009, 05:35:18 AM by sonictj »

Offline Razor ConceptsTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,855
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2009, 06:28:23 PM »
Forgot to post the finished version. The FT232 is surprisingly simple to wire up... the only downside is that it's only in SMD format. I bet it would be a hit if they released one in a DIP package.


Offline sonictj

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2009, 08:40:01 PM »
Another option to the ftdi chip is an ftdi usb cable.  Granted this does not look as cool, and the cable is more expensive, but the cable gives you a whole lot more space on your dev board.  In place of a usb port, the ftdi breakout ect. you have a simple 6 pin header.  take a look at my board here http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=8060.0

The 6 pin headers in the bottom right are the uart to ftdi cable headers.

**Also where is you 5v regulator?  I don't see it in your last picture?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mega644 board
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2009, 01:34:11 AM »
there isn't one! :o
i think he may either get it from a regulated supply or from usb power?
Howdy

 


Get Your Ad Here