go_away

Author Topic: Mounting Servos  (Read 3959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xCycloneTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
  • I am a noob at robot =P
Mounting Servos
« on: May 31, 2009, 01:12:57 PM »
I am building the 50 dollar robot and I am mounting my servos I added the servo mounts but I was wondering what the brass-like rings are for and how do I mount it on I cant lay it on its side and screw it because the holes would be facing the opposite direction. This is my ery first time ever interacting with robots and I need serious HELP!
ROBOTS WILL ONE DAY PWN THE WORLD... maybe.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2009, 01:52:14 PM »
well, i have no idea what the brass rings are but an easy way to mount servos is to get a block of wood
the screw tab x servo height x servo depth and then screw your servo into the wood and screw the wood into
your robot. not the most professional look but it works ;D
Howdy

Offline kpmcgurk

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2009, 05:40:34 AM »
many ways

hot glue(not that good)
double sided tape
there are many kinds of servo brackets http://www.servocity.com/html/mounting_brackets.html
go to a hardware store and just look around many possibilitys are right in front of you ;)
thee wood like smash saig
use your imagination


all other ways, I have had access to a CNC mill so cant help you anymore  ;)
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2009, 05:51:29 AM »
one you forgot to mention and one of the easiest is to find a piece of metal, drill it then bend it...
i might have a go at that tomorrow in metalwork...
Howdy

Offline xCycloneTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
  • I am a noob at robot =P
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2009, 11:24:50 AM »
I actually am going to try velcro it might work might not.
ROBOTS WILL ONE DAY PWN THE WORLD... maybe.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2009, 02:03:49 PM »
I've seen people use rigid plastic containers (heavy duty rubbermaid/sterilite type containers). You just cut the sides with an exacto knife or a hotknife of some sort, and voila, you have a perfectly usable robot body... and a place to store the circuitry out of harms way.
Kurt

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2009, 02:29:21 PM »
plastic project box ftw
Howdy

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2009, 02:29:46 PM »
Here is an example of what I am talking about:
http://letsmakerobots.com/node/7049
Kurt

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2009, 02:30:51 PM »
That's also a good one, project boxes, the big kind. Especially the ones you can sample... free is good. ;D
Kurt

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2009, 02:45:22 PM »
looks like a great little arduino-bot!
but what is the point of the hole in the front? sensors?
Howdy

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2009, 04:11:15 PM »
Probably. It could've also been him experimenting where to put a scanning sensor module or some other stuff. But your guess as a sensor is probably right.
Kurt

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2009, 12:33:37 AM »
i just had metalwork last up so i was making some mounts then... (when my teacher wasn't looking)
they're ugly as hell, and are just pieces of metal bent into 90 degree angles...
i shall report back later...
Howdy

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2009, 11:21:34 AM »
Another method that I've been tinkering with is using board standoffs about 1" to 1 1/4" in length and screwing where to screw slots go on the servo and then mounting it to the surface. This is generally used for horizontal mounting but if you have a very light 'bot this could also work as a vertically mounted system.

Here is an example of what I mean:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=446
Kurt

Offline xCycloneTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
  • I am a noob at robot =P
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2009, 11:52:28 AM »
The Velcro is actually holding up pretty good. I also like that if i want to switch my servos to a different bot (but i haven't built another) that I could do it with ease.
ROBOTS WILL ONE DAY PWN THE WORLD... maybe.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2009, 12:08:11 PM »
It'll work as something along the lines of a $50 style robot, but if you want to make bigger 'bots (you probably know this), you'll need much more robust methods of mounting.
Kurt

Offline xCycloneTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
  • I am a noob at robot =P
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2009, 01:28:12 PM »
I'm pretty sure b/c the bigger the robot the heavier it weighs. :P
ROBOTS WILL ONE DAY PWN THE WORLD... maybe.

Offline jka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2009, 02:13:49 PM »
As you can see in the attached pictures, I'm using a Meccano type of construction set to build the robot. The images are part of an arm that is mounted on a vehicle. The construction set is called Merkur and it's important to note, that it's using metric for the spacing of the holes, rather than inches and it matches the mounting holes on the servos.

What I have done is, that I have taken the bottom off the servos and drilled a hole to mount a screw at the bottom. The screw and the center of the servo horn forms a vertical "axis" through the servo and the servo rotates around this axis when it is turning. The point is, that I can mount the arm at both the servo horn and the bottom to make a more robust construction. Please note, that not all servos have space at the bottom to mount screws. I'm using hexTronik HX12K.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2009, 02:24:55 PM »
wow jka! those look darn good!
i have heaps of old meccano lying around so i may attempt this.
how strong are the mounts?
Howdy

Offline jka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2009, 02:47:42 PM »
Thanks :)

They seem pretty strong. In the beginning I just used the servohorn, but it was too unstable. Then I had a look at the servos and I saw that there was room enough at the bottom for a screw. Mind that there should be enough space between the pcb and the bottom of the servo housing to make room for the screwhead without shorting the pcb.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2009, 05:50:39 PM »
Very nice integration with the Mechanno! What brand of servos and what model did you modify in this manner?
Kurt

Offline jka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2009, 01:34:21 AM »
Very nice integration with the Mechanno! What brand of servos and what model did you modify in this manner?

Thanks. As I wrote, I'm using hexTronik HX12K servos.

Offline hoosier122

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 84
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #21 on: June 03, 2009, 04:27:31 AM »
Very nice integration with the Mechanno! What brand of servos and what model did you modify in this manner?

You can find lots of cheap Erector (or Mechanno as you call it) sets/parts on ebay.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Mounting Servos
« Reply #22 on: June 03, 2009, 09:35:52 AM »
Wow, I totally missed what you wrote, sorry :(. But thank you for telling me this.
Kurt

 


Get Your Ad Here