go_away

Author Topic: programable IC's  (Read 4772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline polar bear6Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Helpful? 0
programable IC's
« on: June 04, 2006, 05:14:12 AM »
hey
is it any way by just looking at the numbers or letters on an IC to tell if it is programable?
« Last Edit: June 04, 2006, 07:14:32 AM by polar bear6 »

Offline cjwillms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2006, 02:01:31 PM »
Not really. Manufactures don't use the same number schemes, so your best bet is to just google the numbers.

Offline polar bear6Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2006, 03:39:05 PM »
garr.
but if it says Atmel on it? is it programable then?
because i have some atmel IC's

Offline cjwillms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2006, 05:04:50 PM »
A lot of atmel stuff is programmable, but not everything they sell is. If you tell me the numbers, I should be able to help you.

Offline polar bear6Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2006, 05:56:06 PM »
wierd, i thought i had like 7 of the atmel IC'c, but i only have 2.
one says:
Atmel (the logo thing)
AT49F4096
90TC
9825

and the other one says:
ATMEL (logo thing)
AT49F1025
50VC
9824

they were in hard drives if that helps.

Offline polar bear6Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2006, 06:59:07 PM »
sorry bout all the fuz. i found it out by myself, they are both programable, one has 1mb, and the other has 4mb, i think. is that much?
your not going to belive what i had to to get this information.
first, i had to open the internett browser!!!!! and then i actually had to go to google, and type in the numbers and letters!!! it was so much work i had to take a food break, and since the chewing was to hard, i had to take food break from that too.
and after i typed in the numbers, i had to press the FIRST LINK!!! and i found the info.

or actually i lied about somethings, i made my mom open the browser. and i didnt go to google, i waited for my cats to walk on the keybord and press random buttons, it took 9 days.

Offline cjwillms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2006, 07:05:50 PM »
lol, I was just about to post that.

Just to clarify though, they are just flash memory. Technically, you can program them, but they can't process anything.

Offline polar bear6Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2006, 04:33:21 AM »
huh? they cant do anything? so basically the best thing i can do with them is toput my program on them, and then take it somewhere else and copy it, like a program memory stick?

Offline cjwillms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2006, 09:43:23 AM »
That's right. Since you took them from a hard drive, they were most likely the data buffer.

They do have their uses though. You can use them as a memoery stick, like you siaid, as well as a extra storage place for a microcontroller.

Here's the documentation.
http://www.atmel.com/atmel/acrobat/doc0569.pdf

It'll tell you how to use them, if you find a need for them.

Offline Afroman

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 4
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2006, 04:29:56 PM »
Cats can do anything!!!!!!!

Offline polar bear6Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programable IC's
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2006, 04:39:14 PM »
yea, my cats are named Ariell and Donna, wich gives them magic skills!!! once, they were so hungry that THEY ATE FOOD!!!

 


Get Your Ad Here