go_away

Author Topic: Is Admin away or something??  (Read 6999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Is Admin away or something??
« on: June 03, 2009, 09:07:24 AM »
I sent Admin an e-mail nd never got a reply, is he away or something?
I will now post my e-mail, incase Admin has decided to read this post...



"Hi, my name is Joe, you may know me better as Joesavage1 from the robot forums although I have not been active lately as I have been busy building my $50 and my website which I will hopefully bring online after I have finished building. I was just wondering if I could get a SoR ad. to put onto my site (preferably a long thin banner for the right hand side of my home page, and another wide but short banner for the middle, as I will decide which I will use later..), when I start up the site, I will for a while put the Ad. on there for free... but if the sites traffic becomes very high, I will remove the Ad. from my site, and e-mail you about any further ad. showing for a small fee either per month or per click, whatever we decide nearer the time, if it comes.
 
 
Thanks
 
 
Joe"



Please Reply


Joe

Offline awally88

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 212
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2009, 09:25:29 AM »
Look up to the news box in the top right corner!

Quote
April 26th to June 20th - I have a lot of stuff going on in my life at the moment, plus spending time fighting hackers and developing Axon II. Basically, I won't be around to help much for two months.

-admin

Robot Forum

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2009, 10:31:55 AM »
Ahh.. ok, well do you know where I can get a SoR, ad from?? as I may have my site up and running by june 20th....  :-\


Thanks

Joe

Offline kpmcgurk

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2009, 10:34:40 AM »
are you saying to place an ad on SoR or to place SoR's ad on your site?
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2009, 01:56:22 PM »
SoR ad on my site, for free at first, then if traffic on mine gets higher, then maybe coming to a small fee, or another negotiation...

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2009, 02:13:29 PM »
No offence, but i think charging admin for an add on your site would be a little greedy.  I mean think of all the free Tut's, code, info, links etc. admin has provided not only you, but thousands of other people with...for free.  Admin has created a whole community and doesn't charge a penny to be part of it or get access to it.  (Admins Axon is a different story because its a product).  In my opinion, promoting SoR on your site is the least you could do for everything this site has probably taught you.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2009, 02:56:29 PM »
i agree with metal slug 2 on this one.
also every year he digs into his pocket and gives out $200+ to complete strangers...
now that is a good person! although he does get tutorials on his site but meh...
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2009, 06:29:52 PM »
Here are the ads I use, take a pick!

And if you get like 2k+ hits per day, I wouldn't mind passing over a free Axon in return for your effort ;D

I just moved into a new place like 2 days ago, but the previous owner didn't bother cleaning it, so busy getting that done . . . then I gotta prep for RoboGames!

Oh and if any of you are skilled graphic artists and think you can do better, go for it!
« Last Edit: June 03, 2009, 06:31:21 PM by Admin »

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2009, 07:48:09 PM »
hows this, admin?
I'm gonna add it to my site
« Last Edit: June 03, 2009, 07:49:28 PM by dellagd »
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2009, 07:58:54 PM »
Looks good to me! :D

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2009, 11:42:16 PM »
ok. thinking about it you guys are right I wouldnt want to charge him, he's helped me too much. But a free axon would be great =D. Ill put it up there now, and ill tell you guys when I publish it...

Thanks

Joe

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2009, 11:44:23 PM »
Sorry about double post, couldnt find edit button..

Admin, I was just wondering, scince im not a genious in Javascript(i dont know any..(although I will be learning as its one of the taught languages at my site)) could you share with me you amazing javascript (or whatever language it may be) Ad. randomizing code.....


Thanks


Joe

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2009, 04:48:50 AM »
Just do 'view page source' and do a search for the word 'random'. You'll find it!

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2009, 01:28:01 PM »
Thanks for that.. Ill report back on progress soon =D.

EDIT: how do I get it so that it stops asking people to activate the activeX control...? or does it just do this when you are opening offline files (im currently using .html files)
« Last Edit: June 04, 2009, 01:55:25 PM by Joesavage1 »

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2009, 03:05:58 PM »
Looks good to me! :D

good enough for you to add it on your site? (I dont care about a reward for it or anything, its free of charge) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2009, 06:35:36 PM »
good enough for you to add it on your site? (I dont care about a reward for it or anything, its free of charge) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Oh, well it doesn't fit the Google ad dimensions (I use those ads for google). :P

EDIT: how do I get it so that it stops asking people to activate the activeX control...? or does it just do this when you are opening offline files (im currently using .html files)
Hmmmm I think most people have activeX enabled by default? I've never had that prob . . .

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #16 on: June 04, 2009, 07:01:12 PM »
Yes it is only when you are developing them offline. I usually get 3 or 4 warnings when developing web pages offline. once they are online, you no longer recieve them.

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #17 on: June 04, 2009, 07:33:49 PM »
 :'(
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #18 on: June 05, 2009, 12:34:01 AM »
btw, sorry to let you down dellagd but im using Admins ads

BTW, thanks guys for telling me that activeX is offline only..


Just to add another question, do you rekon I could get some google ads while my site is still offline or not???   Ive tried to e-mail em, but i doubt they will answer...

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2009, 04:52:10 AM »
Nope, they check your site to make sure it isn't a spam site or anything. You'll need it up and running.

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #20 on: June 05, 2009, 08:22:39 AM »
Ok.. well ill have to contact some sites directly then...

Ok.. I know the questions are probably annoying now, but I have 1 more.. Is the axon basicaly the board on a $50 robot lets say, but without the sensors and stuff plugged in?


EDIT: My estimated time until I finish the site is now 3months - a year. As while ive still got pages to work on, I seem to keep adding new ones!! (belive me, its not the best technique), I might just publish with only some content on and then upgrade while people can still catch on, but ive got all the time in the world, so I havnt made my publishing descisions yet..
« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 11:13:28 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2009, 03:09:23 PM »
Might be a better way to just launch the site now and add on as you go. It will give you an indication on how sucessful it will be... waiting 3-months to a year to first release the site will be a disappointment if it is not sucessful, as that is a lot of time wasted.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2009, 03:16:47 PM »
and to your first question joe,
the axon is *like* the $50 board but it has 50 I/O whereas the $50 board has a max of 20 or so.
there are many differences take a look at the table at the bottom http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/
Howdy

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #23 on: June 05, 2009, 03:22:16 PM »
Looks like those specs in the table about Arduino need to be updated... 16mhz and the minimum voltage is lower than 7.2.

I actually use 4.8v batteries with axon/arduino/50 boards and they work fine.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #24 on: June 05, 2009, 03:28:53 PM »
have you got ldo regulators on the $50 and arduino boards?
Howdy

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2009, 12:39:21 AM »
have you got ldo regulators on the $50 and arduino boards?

Is that question to me?

Might be a better way to just launch the site now and add on as you go. It will give you an indication on how sucessful it will be... waiting 3-months to a year to first release the site will be a disappointment if it is not sucessful, as that is a lot of time wasted.

Good point never thought of that.. I will probably launch the site soon then. All i need now is a decent payment + reciving money method... Ima talk to my dad bout it. (I have a savings account)

and to your first question joe,
the axon is *like* the $50 board but it has 50 I/O whereas the $50 board has a max of 20 or so.
there are many differences take a look at the table at the bottom http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/

Yeah i knew it was better, I was just asking if they where alike in that feature. =D


Thanks

Joe
« Last Edit: June 06, 2009, 12:40:36 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #26 on: June 06, 2009, 01:07:53 AM »
nope, the question was to razor...
Howdy

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #27 on: June 07, 2009, 08:33:51 AM »
SITE UP!! il make a new thread bout it, but i just tell u here first!

goto www.dev-hq.co.uk
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 11:46:11 AM by Joesavage1 »

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #28 on: June 08, 2009, 03:04:54 PM »
Hi Joe,

Whilst I applaud your effort - I do wonder why you've tried to create training resources for HTML, Javascript, VB, CSS. They have all been around for donkeys years and there are a VAST number of VAST forums and training resources out there in webland that have been around for like 10 years or so. So if I wanted to know how to create a new class based on an existing class in Javascript using AJAX (ie doing OO) then... I would need to look elsehwere.

Sorry mate.

PS Not sure what any of the above have actually got to do with Robots?




Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Joesavage1Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is Admin away or something??
« Reply #29 on: June 09, 2009, 12:35:00 AM »
I know that many people have got this type of thing, so i have big competition, but if I make it near the top, then I will get tonnes of traffic coming in.. so hopefully ill eventualy get there. =D

 


Get Your Ad Here