Author Topic: think about getting a roboduino  (Read 2808 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
think about getting a roboduino
« on: June 04, 2009, 07:43:50 PM »
hey guys I am thinking about getting a roboduino and was woundering if I would have to purchase a programmer seperately in buying this one. http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2009, 08:11:39 PM »
If you use the Arduino software you can bootload to the Roboduino directly though USB.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2009, 01:35:57 AM »
no, but sometimes the bootloader has been reported to be slow?
its good just to have a usb/serial programmer around as it helps if you don't have a bootloaded chip.
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2009, 05:40:44 AM »
mixed input
so I type my own program, do I need a seperate programmer?
honestly I dont care about speed if it takes like under 10 seconds for most regular sized programs
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2009, 05:45:02 AM »
type your program in the arduino window. click "upload to board"
and then bam... its up there.
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2009, 05:48:25 AM »
so, do I need an external programmer or not? aka do I have to spend another 20 dollars on a programmer?
I already have a cord. also would you recommend the kit or pre assembled. I'm ok at soldering.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2009, 05:50:30 AM »
nope, all you will need is the usb A to B cable...
and if you get the kit you will have to solder everything except the smd ftdi chip.
Howdy

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2009, 06:02:01 AM »
no, but sometimes the bootloader has been reported to be slow?
its good just to have a usb/serial programmer around as it helps if you don't have a bootloaded chip.

Smash, you should read more carefully these posts. Axon had a problem with the slow bootloader, not the Roboduino. They use different USB chips. Roboduino is based on Arduino which does not have any slow problems.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2009, 06:08:32 AM »
ahh ok my bad, i wasn't sure hence the question mark...
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2009, 07:20:36 PM »
well, u recommend the pre assembled or soldering? 20 dollar difference.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2009, 07:23:42 PM »
i got the preassembled version because my parents didn't trust my soldering skills
if you are comfortable soldering the board get the kit, if not get the predone board.
Howdy

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2009, 07:23:51 PM »
I got the kit, it's easy to solder, so why spend more $$ when I can do the job myself?
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2009, 10:29:07 AM »
compared to the 50$ board soldering how easy is it?
also, which is easier, arduino or roboduino?  roboduino looks better
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2009, 10:35:54 AM »
Roboduino is a lot easier to solder than the $50 board. It is just so much easier to solder on real PCBs than on proto board.

Remember that with the Roboduino, there are only male pin headers... which is fine for servos or something, but otherwise if you have to plug anything else in, youll have to be constantly soldering female connectors to whatever you want to plug in. I was getting tired of that so I just got some normal arduinos so I can easily breadboard with plain wire.

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2009, 02:22:40 PM »
but with the arduino if you want to attach a servo you will need a breadboard and male-to-male headers
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2009, 04:30:11 PM »
true... just keep a bunch of 3 pin connectors with the ends un attached so you can experiment...
its what i do... ;D
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2009, 04:35:25 PM »
thats what I was thinking...
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2009, 05:15:41 PM »
Axon had a problem with the slow bootloader, not the Roboduino. They use different USB chips. Roboduino is based on Arduino which does not have any slow problems.

Is that a fair comment? Surely Axon and Roboduino are just hardware designs - ie they are just mcus with header pins - the Roboduino is a $50 Robot board with a USB port just like the Axon is a 640 board with USB. Slow bootloaders must surely be associated with the bootloader software itself - ie nothing to do with hardware. If there is a fault then maybe its that the ATMega640 bootloader is less used than the ATMega168.

I'm a fan of both boards - but this seems to un-fairly put down the Axon.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2009, 05:32:18 PM »
Axon had a problem with the slow bootloader, not the Roboduino. They use different USB chips. Roboduino is based on Arduino which does not have any slow problems.

Is that a fair comment? Surely Axon and Roboduino are just hardware designs - ie they are just mcus with header pins - the Roboduino is a $50 Robot board with a USB port just like the Axon is a 640 board with USB. Slow bootloaders must surely be associated with the bootloader software itself - ie nothing to do with hardware. If there is a fault then maybe its that the ATMega640 bootloader is less used than the ATMega168.

I'm a fan of both boards - but this seems to un-fairly put down the Axon.

You're right. I didn't wanted to sound that bad. I'm also a fan of both products (I have both) and I know they are using different USB chips, that implies different USB drivers and different bootloaders. I will try to use a USB to UART adapter that uses the same chip as Roboduino, connected to UART0 on Axon and load a sketch from Arduino after installing the Arduino Mega bootloader. I'm curious if it will behave the same as with the Axon original bootloader. But anyways, slow or not, Axon is a great product and I'm proud to have one.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2009, 06:34:00 PM »
Axon had a problem with the slow bootloader, not the Roboduino. They use different USB chips. Roboduino is based on Arduino which does not have any slow problems.

Is that a fair comment? Surely Axon and Roboduino are just hardware designs - ie they are just mcus with header pins - the Roboduino is a $50 Robot board with a USB port just like the Axon is a 640 board with USB. Slow bootloaders must surely be associated with the bootloader software itself - ie nothing to do with hardware. If there is a fault then maybe its that the ATMega640 bootloader is less used than the ATMega168.

I'm a fan of both boards - but this seems to un-fairly put down the Axon.

hey, If I had a spare 100 dollars I'd buy the axon.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2009, 06:50:13 PM »
hey, If I had a spare 100 dollars I'd buy the axon.

If I had $100k then I'd buy a Ferrari.

Performance/Specs are great !!
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2009, 07:47:57 PM »
lol, wouldn't we all!
is there no way you can get any money for an axon?
i believe there is a contest on later in the year...
but the roboduino still gets the job done... and pretty well too!
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #22 on: June 07, 2009, 04:56:38 PM »
k I'm goin with smash and getting a roboduino. also I am hoping to win the next contest, but I need a MCU, so I cant wait half a year!
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2009, 04:58:45 PM »
roboduino's are excellent boards, you will not be disappointed.
just out of curiosity, kit of pre-made?
Howdy

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2009, 06:25:26 PM »
pre made
its only 15 extra bucks, and I dont get the hassle of putting it together and if it doesnt work I'm sure I can complain to the manufacturer
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #25 on: June 08, 2009, 02:36:18 PM »
lol, wouldn't we all!
is there no way you can get any money for an axon?
i believe there is a contest on later in the year...
but the roboduino still gets the job done... and pretty well too!

Already got an Axon dont have a Roboduino - but then the Roboduino is just a $50 robot with the ATMega168 upgrade (as per the tutorial)  with a USB port - right? (Hey Eric: not being -ve, but its like a professionally produced $50 robot board - right)

Can't solder a ATMega640 as my SMD skills aren't great but ATMega168 DIP is no problem - so I can make my own Robo$50duino board with no problems
 
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #26 on: June 08, 2009, 03:19:43 PM »
yeah, i knew that when i bought it...
i just got it for its usb programming because i have to shift everything on my pc stand to get to my parallel port :-\
i think ill be getting a cheaper usb programmer thats compatible with avrdude soon...
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #27 on: June 09, 2009, 06:22:05 PM »
Quote
Axon had a problem with the slow bootloader, not the Roboduino. They use different USB chips.

Actually, its a problem with XP SP3. The bootloader works real fast with SP2:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_FAQ.shtml#boot_slow

Offline dellagdTopic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: think about getting a roboduino
« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2009, 05:27:35 AM »
woah
close one
almost upgraded to SP3 yesterday!
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

 


Get Your Ad Here