2

Author Topic: using a motor with a microcontroller  (Read 1075 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ccdjr106Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
using a motor with a microcontroller
« on: June 07, 2009, 11:39:23 AM »
hi i have an old toy with treads on it and i took it apart today and i was able to make it move by connecting a 9v battery up to the motors that are hooked up to the treads but i was wondering how i would connect it to my roboduino

Offline Conscripted

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Helpful? 10
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 12:04:06 PM »
Hello,

You are going to have to put some piece of electronics between your roboduino and the motors. Your best bet is to get an "H" bridge ic. It will allow you to provide more power to the motors than what your roboduino and provide. Most will also protect your electronics from the high voltage spike that is associated with inductive loads. My friend G should help with the details.

Hope that helps.
Conscripted

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 03:45:01 PM »
as conscripted said you will need a h-bridge or a motor driver ic.
if you try hooking up those motors to the roboduino directly you will fry the pin because the
motor wants to draw more current than the pin can handle.
Howdy

Offline Canabots

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
  • Helpful? 6
  • It's not a bug, it's a feature!
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 05:47:23 AM »
If you don't want to build your own motor driver, or don't feel comfortable/confident with it, you could go and buy one. I've seen decent ones at only $20

Solarbotics.com is a good spot to start.

Many other companies create motor drivers too.
My robotics, electronics, software, or other stuff blog:
www.saltech.wordpress.com

Offline BEAMer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Helpful? 0
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 06:41:32 PM »
hi,

You've got toy motor right? Iam sure it wont pull more than 1 amp, so you can use L293D motor driver IC. its pretty easy and it has the protection diodes also. The connections ar also very easy. just read the data sheet and wire it up!

BEAMer

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 10:26:09 PM »
Try this motor controller board:

https://www.solarbotics.com/cad/products/k_cmd/

Offline ccdjr106Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2009, 01:56:39 PM »
Try this motor controller board:

https://www.solarbotics.com/cad/products/k_cmd/
how many motors can you control with that because i have to control 2 motors

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: using a motor with a microcontroller
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2009, 02:19:35 PM »
yes, it can control two motors at 2 amps each or one motor at 4 amps.
Howdy

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list