Author Topic: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'  (Read 2092 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« on: June 10, 2009, 01:09:45 PM »
OK, so I need help with this. Basically I need to connect a plastic servo horn to a metal u-channel.

Any ideas as how to do it. The metal u-channel is quite heavy.

Thanks,

jakx12
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 01:15:07 PM »
Do you have any pictures?

P.S. Metal servos would be good here, if you have any I'd suggest you'd upgrade, due to the amount of holding torque needed (you don't want striped servo gearing) to move heavier pieces of metal.
Kurt

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2009, 01:19:32 PM »
i got metal servos, and i figured it out but thanks. I think tho metal horns would be useful.
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 01:31:38 PM »
Yea, I'd definately look for some. What brand are the servos you are using? Because I may be able to find some metal horns for ya.
Kurt

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 01:53:11 PM »
futaba.
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2009, 02:16:10 PM »
I had an eerie feeling that you were going to say that. Those ones are very hard to get a hold of, and plus I'm guessing people don't really sell them. but all is not lost, because there HAS to be someone who custom makes them. But you should probably just run some extensive tests on this.

To answer your first question, just drill some holes in a drillable place and with machine screws secure it to the horn (preferably the "t" shaped horn).
Kurt

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2009, 02:45:05 PM »
Thats pretty much what im was going to do :)
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2009, 03:44:55 PM »
Mounting the main load directly to the servo horn is not a good idea, servos are not very strong when you put a big force on them laterally (perpendicular to the servo shaft).

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2009, 03:49:43 PM »
So what should I do.
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2009, 03:51:07 PM »
Well should I connect them directly to the servo.
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2009, 03:52:45 PM »
Well should I connect them directly to the servo.
how would that work?
he means putting the force which is pulling the servo horn to the left or right is bad.
Howdy

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2009, 03:53:53 PM »
Well you have that little bit on the servo which turns which one connects to a servo horn.
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2009, 03:58:32 PM »
how would you connect a metal plate to that? you mean the shaft?
Howdy

Offline Canabots

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
  • Helpful? 6
  • It's not a bug, it's a feature!
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2009, 06:35:13 AM »
I think it may be best to connect use a servo gear box. They will make the servo output stronger (though slower) and it gives a large output to place your metal piece.

http://servocity.com/html/medium-duty_pan_systems.html
My robotics, electronics, software, or other stuff blog:
www.saltech.wordpress.com

Offline jakx12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Connecting servo's to metal 'arms'
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2009, 07:29:02 AM »
That would be ideal, but to expensive. Dont worry guys iv thought of a way. It works iv just tried it, but thanks for the comments :)
Need help with an algorithm or a maths related problem? Ill be glad to help :)

 


Get Your Ad Here