go_away

Author Topic: underwater switch  (Read 4146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline karmaxTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Helpful? 0
underwater switch
« on: June 10, 2009, 03:02:29 PM »
hi.. actually i  am working on a underwater project .so i want a switch that is waterproof and can work in underwater also.i want to use it for killing the bot .i cant find switches.please help me


Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11

Offline karmaxTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Helpful? 0
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2009, 11:06:45 PM »
thanks for help i have seen it earlier also.but i want underwater switches not waterproof switches.they will not work in undewater

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2009, 11:10:38 PM »
a normal switch wrapped in some gladwrap?
what sort of water are we talking about? salt or normal?
Howdy

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2009, 11:26:45 PM »
thanks for help i have seen it earlier also.but i want underwater switches not waterproof switches.they will not work in undewater
hmm, unless im mistaken, anything that is "waterproof" can be used "underwater".  Of course, with your robot, the electronics must be contained in a water-tight container...the switch I linked to in my last post would work, if you took the leads of the switch and ran them through to the water-tight container and sealed the holes with some underwater rated silicone sealant.

Or maybe you have an underwater remote control type switch idea...

perhaps you could use a reed switch.  have the reed switch located inside the robot attached to one of the walls (also with a piece iron to hold the magnet on).  Then use any magnet to extenally turn on and off the robot.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2009, 11:28:26 PM by Metal Slug 2 »

Offline karmaxTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Helpful? 0
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2009, 11:33:18 PM »
actually i am working with 24v,50A switch .and i cant find that value reed switch or a normal waterproof switch.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2009, 11:42:59 PM »
actually i am working with 24v,50A switch .and i cant find that value reed switch or a normal waterproof switch.
[sarcasm]
thats not dangerous at all
[/sarcasm] what about using a transistor hooked up to a relay?
Howdy

Offline karmaxTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Helpful? 0
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2009, 11:51:40 PM »
ya, that i can but i dont want to increase electronics because i have size constrain.so if u can tell me any switch that can work 24v,50A in underwater also that will be beneficial for us


Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: underwater switch
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2009, 09:32:53 AM »
Quote
[sarcasm]
thats not dangerous at all
[/sarcasm]
Actually it isn't that dangerous. It may be enough to give you a jolt but I don't think it could do you any serious harm (maybe under the right conditions). Anyways, I don't think you're going to find a reed switch rated for 50A, but you could have a reed switch turn on a relay.
Robots are awesome!

 


Get Your Ad Here