Author Topic: Game playing robot arm  (Read 1673 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ConscriptedTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Helpful? 10
Game playing robot arm
« on: June 14, 2009, 10:38:24 PM »
Hello all. I've finished $50 dollar robot. I posted some pictures in this thread. I'll add a sharp ir sensor to it in the next few days but I'm already thinking about my next project. I would like to build a robotic arm that can play Tic Tac Toe. I don't think a vision system is practical for me yet so I thought I might add a sensor for each possible move. It could be a micro switch or maybe a photo detector not real sure. I have three problems that i will need to overcome.

1. How would I monitor 9 sensors and be able to move three or four servos too?
2. I've never built a robotic arm
3. My programming skills are very weak.

Would it be possible to take a tic tac toe game written in C from the web and modify it? As I see it all the decision making would be programmed already. I would need to modify it code to move the arm to set positions instead of display the information on a screen. Would A program written in C for a PC port easily to AVR?

Thanks for any input provided.

Conscripted

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2009, 06:16:00 AM »
I've seen Lego robots playing Tic-tac-toe. They were using the old RCX system, so the sensors were pretty limited. Most of them used a probe with 3 touch sensors attached to a resistive multiplexor, that would give out different voltage for each sensor combination. The probe would touch the game surface for each line, and the sensors would be actuated if a piece were to be found, the result being stored in an array. The robot would know which of the pieces were his and which were it's oponent's so after probing, a move would be calculated and a new piece added to the game.

To better understand the concept, please take a look at the best Lego Connect 4 robot:
http://www.teamhassenplug.org/robots/fullcontact/

And a description of an older Lego ATic-tac-toe robot with code:
http://www.marioferrari.org/ttt.html

And here is a vid of a Lego robot - oh, and I forgot to mention that the robots must clear up the table after the game!
[youtube]XhfGQGGFb68[/youtube]
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 03:53:01 PM »
1. How would I monitor 9 sensors and be able to move three or four servos too?

Well, its exactly like how the $50 Robot monitors 2 photoresistors. Just look at the code and expand it. The $50 Robot can only do 8 analog sensors. You'd need an Axon for more :P

Quote
2. I've never built a robotic arm

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_faq.shtml#robot_arm

Quote
3. My programming skills are very weak.

practice practice practice
(and take some classes and read some books)

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2009, 04:12:13 PM »
1. How would I monitor 9 sensors and be able to move three or four servos too?
Well, its exactly like how the $50 Robot monitors 2 photoresistors. Just look at the code and expand it. The $50 Robot can only do 8 analog sensors. You'd need an Axon for more :P
how does it do that? i though it only had 6 analogue ports?
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2009, 04:19:04 PM »
Oops sorry just 6 ADC. I was thinking of the SMD version of the ATmega8 (which has 8 ).


edit:
Code: [Select]
8) looks like 8) to the forum . . .
« Last Edit: June 17, 2009, 06:37:11 PM by Admin »

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2009, 06:34:51 PM »
I'll put this in my list of projects-to-do
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2009, 08:54:00 PM »
I'll put this in my list of projects-to-do
Me 2  ;D...just one more of dozens I have planned for over the summer...

Offline ConscriptedTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Helpful? 10
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2009, 10:21:15 PM »
Well, its exactly like how the $50 Robot monitors 2 photoresistors. Just look at the code and expand it. The $50 Robot can only do 8 analog sensors. You'd need an Axon for more :P

For the sensors I only need to know if there is a piece present or not. Would it be possible to make a voltage divider or multiplex the sensors to indicate which positions are filled and which aren't?

Conscripted

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2009, 06:40:17 AM »
you could use an ir emitter detector pair if its possible to have one on each side, or if not you could use a sharp ir...
Howdy

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Game playing robot arm
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2009, 06:33:36 PM »
This makes you think.
Why don't more people use lego to build robot chassises?  I mean the guy in the vid made something like a gantry crane! I might try this...
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list