go_away

Author Topic: esc  (Read 2692 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
esc
« on: April 08, 2007, 12:37:55 AM »
now i was looking on servocity and found the motor esc's.  Now which amp should i use if i'm using a 12-18 volt motor
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: esc
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2007, 02:15:42 AM »
Hi, when you start off a post make sure you put a detailed description in.

Plus, when you say 'esc's', do you mean etc?

Is this an extension of another post? If so, it's maybe a good idea to put this on the end of that one, if you know what I mean.
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: esc
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2007, 02:17:12 AM »
I don;t think a lot of people know that ESC stands for a speed controller.

Like, just try and keep off abbreviations wherever possible please :)
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
Re: esc
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2007, 03:35:33 PM »
sorry, well this is the link http://www.servocity.com/html/speed_controls.html, and well they stand for electronic speed controller.
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: esc
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2007, 04:21:10 PM »
You need an amp why?
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: esc
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2007, 04:46:28 PM »
so as Hal9000 says,
you haven't provided enough information to answer the question.

how many Amps does your "12-18 volt motor" draw?
you are looking for it's "stall current". if you cant find this info online then try measuring it's current draw with a multimeter with it connected to a battery as you try to to stop the motor rotating.
you will need a motor controller that can handle that may Amps at the voltage used.

note that the first 3 motor controllers on the link you posted are only rated up to 9.6Volts so won't really be much good with your motors.

dunk.

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
Re: esc
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2007, 02:34:34 AM »
where can i get a multimeter
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: esc
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2007, 02:39:02 AM »
Any electronics store.........someone in your family might have one. Maybe even a DIY store.
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline sotu

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 350
  • Helpful? 0
  • ´BB - Eye Biped Bot
Re: esc
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2007, 02:57:22 AM »
Im having problems finding stores who sells stuff for robots. Im going to order something online soon!
How to build a biped bot:

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
Re: esc
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2007, 12:30:56 PM »
thanks, for the help guys
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

 


Get Your Ad Here