Author Topic: sprockets  (Read 3268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
sprockets
« on: April 09, 2007, 01:27:49 PM »
I have a motor with a 1/8 shaft on it. I can't find a sprocket with that size of a bore. can anyone help me, or is there a way to make a shaft bigger?
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
Re: sprockets
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 03:49:18 PM »
I was wondering if this servo thing will work on my motors http://www.servocity.com/html/servo_to_shaft_couplers.html
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: sprockets
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 04:22:03 PM »
so i have used this sort of thing to connect a wheel straight on to a gear motor:
http://www.servocity.com/html/set_screw_hubs.html
i don't know if that suits your purpose.

i know i have seen sites with all sorts of hardware for joining all sorts of drive shafts, cogs, pulleys, bells ,whistles, etc.
keep searching on the internet. there definitely are some out there. if i stumble across any links in the mean time i'll post a link.

i don't think that servo coupler is what you are looking for unless you want to connect a 1/8th shaft to a servo...
what about these:http://www.servocity.com/html/rigid_shaft_couplers.html

dunk.

Offline jshalcottTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Helpful? 0
  • The Party Has Arived
Re: sprockets
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 04:50:56 PM »
I think that will be perfect, as long as you can fit aluminum tubing in it. thanks dunk
DONT DO DRUGS!!!!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: sprockets
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2007, 08:12:57 AM »
if you have access to a drill press, they are pretty easy to make :D

Offline sdk32285

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
  • Helpful? 0
Re: sprockets
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2007, 12:30:46 PM »
With a drill press you could also just get a size smaller and bore out the center a little
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

Offline Brandon121233

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Genius is %1 inspiration and %99 perspiration"
Re: sprockets
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2007, 04:48:37 PM »
Yes but not very much, those shaft couplers deal with a good amount of torquing already, and if you remove too much material, it could easily break/shear off if put under load. Plus a drill press isn't the most accurate tool for the job, if I were you, I would leave it alone.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2007, 04:49:09 PM by Brandon121233 »
Hell, there are no rules here—we're
   trying to accomplish something.

                                                                              —Thomas Edison

 


Get Your Ad Here