Author Topic: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.  (Read 9426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #30 on: April 14, 2007, 08:58:23 AM »
WHat i mean is that when I click on it to add It says Illigal character can not add and beneath that it says you can not have these characters:/\., those are only a few. And I have noticed that I do have a couple of the \\\\\ in the file name because it goes My_robots\Photovore_v1\Photovore_v1.c I am apparently not aloud to have any of thes \\\\\\\\\ so I got around this problem by putting it in another folder and uploading it from there. but when I do this the build never ends or either it just takes really long.My computer is not super slow so it shouldnt take like 2hrs. Wait i am now getting stuff like so and so loaded in the message column of build. Does that mean it is working? One more question. I accidently closed out the box next to messages that say break points and trace points, how do I get that back?

Offline Somchaya

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 180
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #31 on: April 14, 2007, 09:13:50 AM »
Oh I see.. Hmm, so \ is an escape character in C.. So what you can try doing is to replace \ with \\, eg:

C:\Robot\Main.c becomes C:\\Robot\\Main.c

Try that and see if it works, not sure if that's the problem..
Somchaya - Back after a year of misc things
http://whisker.scribblewiki.com

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #32 on: April 14, 2007, 09:20:10 AM »
Ok so what your saying is that I should replace the single \ with a double \\. I dont know how I would add them though. where would I go to add a double slash. Anyway way I used a different folder with no \\\ and  I think it worked I clicked build and I am not sure if it is doing any thing but under message it says  Loaded plugin STK500
gcc plug-in: PlugInUtility::setupAndCheckWinAVR() Found avr-gcc at C:\WinAVR\bin\avr-gcc.exe
gcc plug-in: PlugInUtility::setupAndCheckWinAVR() Found make at C:\WinAVR\utils\bin\make.exe
Loaded plugin AVR GCC
Loaded partfile: C:\Program Files\Atmel\AVR Tools\PartDescriptionFiles\ATmega8.xml
Flash memory 8192
EEPROM memory 512
I/O start 0x00
I/O stop 0x3F
SRAM size 1024
SRAM start 0x60
XRAM size 0
Temporary page buffer 64
SRAM start NA
gcc plug-in: CProjectTree::OnSize()
gcc plug-in: CProjectTree::OnSize()
gcc plug-in: CProjectTree::OnSize()
I dont know if that means it is working. ONe more thing how do I get the box back that says break points and trace points. I think I accidently deleted it. Ok thanks tell me if you think it is working or not.

Offline Somchaya

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 180
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #33 on: April 14, 2007, 09:52:12 AM »
Hmm.. I'm not familiar with avr software, but it does look as if it's working..

Not so sure about the breakpoints and all that though..
Somchaya - Back after a year of misc things
http://whisker.scribblewiki.com

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #34 on: April 14, 2007, 10:23:17 AM »
well what software do you use? I now realize that photovore is just following light. I dont beleive it works though because my pc does not seem do be doing anything(making any noise). Is there anyway I can make my robot just go around my hous e without bumping into things (With the board I made in 50 dolloar robot)?If so could you show me a good tutorial,source codes and everything that you would use. Or I guess I would not mind the photovore  if it worked but I would rather just have it go around my house. Any help would be great. Thanks.

Offline Somchaya

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 180
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #35 on: April 14, 2007, 11:09:41 AM »
Oh, well I've not personally built the $50 robot, but I've done photovores before using a Handyboard, which has a different development platform..

Regarding going around the house and not bumping into things, the source code might be slightly different, and you would probably have to change the sensors to a different kind, but I believe the $50 robot can be adapted to do that.

Have you managed to get the wheels of the robot to turn? You can try shining light at one or both of the light sensors and see if it makes a difference. I don't think the board will actually make any noise, but wheels turning will be quite noticeable if it happens.

If that doesn't work, then there is probably some error in either the software or hardware..

Edit: by hardware I mean connections and the like, I don't think the components themselves are faulty (that does happen, but the probability of that happening is lower)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2007, 11:10:27 AM by Somchaya »
Somchaya - Back after a year of misc things
http://whisker.scribblewiki.com

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #36 on: April 14, 2007, 01:09:26 PM »
I would like to try that if I Had the software working. I can not build it and I am doing everything right. It just says build and it will say build for hours on end. It  doesnt work. If someone could show me a way to make a program for the board I just made that works I would be very pleased. thanks.

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #37 on: April 14, 2007, 07:30:09 PM »
Ok i have gotten the build on the photovore program to work. Now I need help  getting rid of the errors:

Build started 14.4.2007 at 21:25:51

-------- begin --------
avr-gcc (GCC) 4.1.1 (WinAVR 20070122)
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.


Compiling: Photovore_v1.c
re_v1.o

In file included from Photovore_v1.c:20:
SoR_Utils.h:22:48: error: global.h: No such file or directory
SoR_Utils.h:27:60: error: a2d.h: No such file or directory
Photovore_v1.c: In function 'main':
Photovore_v1.c:41: warning: implicit declaration of function 'a2dInit'
Photovore_v1.c:42: warning: implicit declaration of function 'a2dSetPrescaler'
Photovore_v1.c:42: error: 'ADC_PRESCALE_DIV32' undeclared (first use in this function)
Photovore_v1.c:42: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
Photovore_v1.c:42: error: for each function it appears in.)
Photovore_v1.c:43: warning: implicit declaration of function 'a2dSetReference'
Photovore_v1.c:43: error: 'ADC_REFERENCE_AVCC' undeclared (first use in this function)
Photovore_v1.c:56: warning: implicit declaration of function 'a2dConvert8bit'
make: *** [Photovore_v1.o] Error 1
Build failed with 6 errors and 4 warnings...

How do I fix these. Thanks.

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #38 on: April 14, 2007, 09:44:40 PM »
download ponyprog2000, and I'll post the .hex file that has already been "built"
save it and rename it.
delete the .jpg.txt
so it only says      photovore_v1.hex
« Last Edit: April 14, 2007, 09:46:26 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Struggling with directions for avr software in 50 dollar robot.
« Reply #39 on: May 11, 2007, 09:03:20 AM »
Was just wondering if you had any luck in getting it to work.

The last error you posted looks like you didnt set up the make file properly (Configuration Options section), and/or are missing files that are supposed to be in the folder.

 


Get Your Ad Here