2

Author Topic: $50 robot cable recognition  (Read 7612 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
$50 robot cable recognition
« on: April 11, 2007, 06:20:01 PM »
I have the Atmel AVR ATmega8-16pc microcontroller, and have made the pc board for it. I've checked the pc board, and AFAIK there are not shorts, and everything that should gets power (~4.5v) The power is provided from a 7.2v 180ma transformer and a 5v regulator on the pc board. power is on when trying to connect.



I just received the serial-AVR programming cable and when I plug it in and look at device manager it says com 1. (I have it enabled)



The problem is that ponyprog2000 doesn't recognize it being connected. I have set ponyprog2000 to com 1, but don't know what to set the other options to.



Here are some pics.



Is there anything I could do to maybe test if the Microcontroller is ok.



Thanks
« Last Edit: April 12, 2007, 05:28:54 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2007, 03:01:54 AM »
i'm afraid this post will be of limited help as i've never used the PonyProg2000 and haven't programmed AVRs from windows before...

so is the PonyProg a powered device or just a fancy serial cable?
i'm thinking that maybe the software isn't supposed to actually recognise the cable as a device.
will the software let you try to program the AVR without having recognised the cable?

if no one else on here has any suggestions you could try the PonyProg forum:
http://ponyprog1.sourceforge.net/phorum/index.php

good luck!

dunk.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2007, 03:09:00 AM by dunk »

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2007, 05:35:17 AM »
Thanks for the link. I'll try it after school

ponyprog is a piece of software.
I'll click write all and it'll pop-up missing componect. If I click ignore It'll continue and then say writing failed
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2007, 09:08:27 PM »
I've tried alot of stuff and it still don't work

Can I get another pc board at RadioShack, and just solder the headers to program it, and 5v regulator, just so I can program it. or at least try.

I've ran an ohm meter and AFAIK everything that is suposed to is connected.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2007, 04:10:51 AM »
you probably have this covered but when you build the stripped down circuit for programming it would be worth soldering on any capacitors that Admin suggests between the +ive and GND lines. (to help smooth any ripples in the power.)
but yes, otherwise all you need on there is the atmega8 and the power regulator.

dunk.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2007, 09:16:57 PM »
after looking around and checking every connection wiht my dad, I got one of the servo's to shake while "connecting" as soon as the message popped up saying "device not found" it stopped. Turns out pins 1 and 2 solder were touching. after that it stil don't work and manually shorting the pins won't make it twitch no more.  :'(

I think the problem before was the voltage regulator. it spit out ~4v with 7v in.
so 4x1.2v hotwired worked to some extent

I guess the mcu is fried. gonna probably get a new chip  :'(
$3 for chip
$12 for shipping and handling  >:(
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2007, 11:42:09 AM »
Quote
The power is provided from a 7.2v 180ma transformer
well, 180mA isnt enough to power servos (a power dropout will cause the atmel to not work). disconnect the servos when trying to connect to the board. also, use your multimeter to measure the current draw when you try to connect to the atmel through ponyprog. if the current goes close to 180mA, that could be your problem.

another stupid-check, make sure only one program that is running on your computer is using com1. sometimes i might have hyperterminal using com1, causing conflicts.

if it still doesnt work after you fix the power issue, let me know. unfortunately i dont really understand the ponyprog enough to easily debug issues like this . . . :-\

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2007, 01:45:53 PM »
Quote
another stupid-check, make sure only one program that is running on your computer is using com1. sometimes i might have hyperterminal using com1, causing conflicts.
I'm not good with pc's software wise. I downloaded some serial port monitor and once it popped up port closed and other times it wont say anything.

I've tried programming it with and without servo's.

While having the cable connected to the pc and the battery to the 5v power bus, the + contact on the battery touched the pc case and it sparked. so I'm guessing it's dead now.  :'(
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2007, 01:51:52 PM »
dont feel too bad, i fried mine too . . . :'(

i just ordered two more last week, always good to keep backups when you experiment . . .

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2007, 01:53:50 PM »
as a last chance of it still being alive, can I send it to you and you try to program it. since it always could be the pc, or was that spark pretty much it.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2007, 02:03:45 PM »
haha well its only like $3.25 plus shipping :P

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2007, 02:10:08 PM »
Quote
$3 for chip
$12 for shipping and handling 
$5 for handling since it's under $25
$6 for shipping
=
~$15 total
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 02:11:15 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2007, 02:52:30 PM »
hmmm didnt notice that extra handling charge . . . would explain why two of them cost me $21 . . . haha oops . . . arg, $7.80 postage, too :-\

ummmm play around with it for another week, and if you still cant get it to work, then yea you can mail it to me. i say a week cause ill be crazy busy for the next week.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2007, 06:54:55 PM »
I think I'm just going to order it now since I can't wait for shipping 2x.
What other stuff do you recommend getting since shipping is so expensive
I'm going to add stuff later to it, but have no idea ATM

Maybe 2 chips, pots, leds, socket holders, what else?

I'm supposed to be getting motor drivers and switching regulator and analog temp sensor samples soon
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2007, 07:02:50 PM »
wire spools? solder? clippers? screws?

its kinda hard to plan what you get till you need it . . .

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2007, 07:08:28 PM »
Got a bunch of wire, might be able to find thin stuff
Got solder
might buy soldering gun later
Alligator clips?
should be able to salvage screws

What I do need is a third arm.

Was the to get list in the previus post good?
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2007, 07:14:34 PM »
not sure what your budget is, but i can think of $500 worth of tools and equipment that you can get from digikey :P

what previous post? link me!

you might also want some mosfets, more 5V voltage regulators, a few resistors of various values to keep around (100ohm, 1kohm, 5kohm I use the most) . . .

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2007, 07:20:26 PM »
Quote
Maybe 2 chips, pots, leds, socket holders, what else?

mosfets are a good idea.

I should have 4- 5v switching regulators coming it, and 3 adjustable V switching regulators

variety pack of resistors, caps, leds would be nice

What kind of tools are you talking about? more specificallly.
We already have a bunch of tools at our house
drill press, saws-all, mig welder, large oxy-accy system :P
« Last Edit: April 17, 2007, 07:39:29 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2007, 07:21:35 PM »
just noticed the last few posts were 6 minutes apart ;D
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2007, 07:50:15 PM »
Quote
What kind of tools are you talking about? more specificallly.
hot air gun and some heat shrink tubing!

safety glasses

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2007, 08:47:07 PM »
wouldn't using hot air to heat the solder also heat the ic to the same temp and damage it?

Thanks, I forgot heatshrinlk tubing
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2007, 04:51:41 AM »
well i meant a hot air gun for the heat shrink . . .

but for a hot air rework station check this out:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=705.0

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2007, 05:28:27 AM »
can't you use a hair dryer?
If not and more heat is needed, the torch has my back 8)
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline JonHylands

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2007, 05:38:42 AM »
A long time ago, I bought a little lighter-driven heat gum from Radio Shack.





It works reasonably well for heatshrink, is small, was very cheap, and doesn't require a cord.

I also have a portable butane soldering iron that has an attachment that allows you to do the same thing, but I've never gotten around to using it.

- Jon

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2007, 04:43:16 PM »
Does digikey even carry variety packs of stuff? cause I looked and couldn't find any.
I don't feel like going to RadioSh*t.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot cable recognition
« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2007, 08:21:00 PM »
I'm getting me 8 lm555's  :o
12ft of heatshrink
24 leds
and 3 atmega8's  8)
100 or 500 pack of resistors at RS (will I even use up 500) (how long does it take you?)
and I have a bunch of caps unsoldered from stuff

I was looking for infared sensors to use for object avoidance, but they were shown to be very close to teh wall (not far range)
I was going to buy just a couple of IF leds and sensors, but the thing about wavelength output of led and wavelength receiving capabilities confused me.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 01:52:24 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

 


Get Your Ad Here