Author Topic: roborealm  (Read 1809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
roborealm
« on: July 31, 2009, 08:02:42 PM »
can roborealm only be used to receive video in the computer and not to do any image processing .is thr anything different alternative which can be the solution??

-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2009, 08:13:23 PM »
roborealm does the processing... there should be a few tutorials about it that explain what roborealm does.
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2009, 11:59:09 PM »
ok is thr any softaware which can be used just to receive the video from the robot where the camera is connected to the uart port

-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2009, 03:26:54 AM »
receive it and do what? save it, view it?
and by connected to the uart port, you mean on an mcu or pc?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2009, 03:32:58 AM »
it would be gr8 if it could save it but for now viewing it would be ok.
the camera will be connected to the uart port of the mcu on the robot.
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2009, 03:35:01 AM »
wait, what kind of camera is it? something that processes the image eg. blackfin, cmucam
or something like a webcam that does not process it?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2009, 03:41:00 AM »
i will hopefully buy the camera which can be used to process vidoe so that i could use it later in the future for other robot projects. ;D

-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2009, 03:45:08 AM »
so does the mcu need to do anything to the video?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2009, 03:49:07 AM »
i first want to just receive video in the computer but later as i will experiment ,i will try image processing

well there is a competition where i will use image processing to kick a ball using a on board camera on the robot.

-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2009, 03:53:12 AM »
so its just passing through for now?
you want to use the mcu board to transmit the data to your pc to be viewed?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2009, 03:54:09 AM »
u r absolutely correct on that
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2009, 03:57:53 AM »
well, there are a range of things you could choose from, lets start with a budget, you have one of those right?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2009, 04:02:04 AM »
i m almost a beggar .the reason in India most robotic parts are unavailable and if u go to buy the things  online ,they would just cost u a lot(50 rupees in India is equivalent to 1$).so my range of investment can be till 200$ if i beg the money to my parents (not really :P).

-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2009, 04:09:11 AM »
and i thought it was bad over here ;D
well, you could check out pairs like these:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8946
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8950
or you could go for something more expensive like bluesmirf, xbee or wifi...
i take it the range wont need to be over 50-100m?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2009, 04:18:59 AM »
do u mean that to  tell the camera to transmit the video through the transmitter ??
am i right ??
presently i m reading the image processing tutorials by the admin.i hope it is helping me .
i now read the problem statement and the moderators have edited the rules and the robot to make is
Build a team of two computer controlled navigators, which can/would move balls of a specific color into the opponent's goal post with the help of an overhead/on board camera.


-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2009, 04:24:10 AM »
so your controlling the robot?
Howdy

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2009, 04:25:36 AM »
ya
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: roborealm
« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2009, 04:54:59 AM »
so your going to use a pc as a "controller" and control the robot wireless depending on what the camera sees?
is the camera going to be mounted on your robot?
Howdy

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: roborealm
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2009, 01:38:18 PM »
You will need a video transmitter and receiver, all the ones smash linked will not work to transmit video. They will work to control the robot.

Check out the video transmitters and receivers here:
rangevideo.com

Also, the video receiver has a video-out. You can use a device called the EasyCap, that plugs in to your computer and the receiver so that the computer gets the video.

Offline gaurav.pTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: roborealm
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2009, 09:46:32 PM »
ya the camera will be mounted on the robot .
now i will just try to browse the websites provided by razor concepts.
tyvm to everyone who helped me.

-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list