Author Topic: 50$ Robot PCB layout  (Read 2653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
50$ Robot PCB layout
« on: August 14, 2009, 02:00:23 AM »
Heylo ppl
I just finished designing a PCB layout for the 50$ robot. Im a beginner at this so i made it on PCB wizard 3.5 (cant use eagle ;D). Its a .pcb file.
Ive attached a jpeg for the layout as well (in case you dont wanna download the software).

There are 3 wire connections that have to be made:
1) Pin 8 and Pin 22 of the MuC (Use a small piece of wire for this since this connection goes in between the DIP socket)
2) ICSP Header Pin 1 and Pin 17 of the MuC.
3) ICSP Header Pin 5 and Pin 1 of the MuC.
Notice that for each of the above wire connections i have provided extra pads from the respective pins.
For the resistor, LED and the 100nF cap, the pads are exactly where Admin has put them in his tutorial. Have a look at the pictures in the tutorial while making these connections and it should be clear.

Let me know if there are any mistakes or if anything is unclear.

Hope this helps :)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2009, 12:10:02 AM by roshan.r24 »

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2009, 02:12:40 AM »
hey roshan.r24! welcome to the forum ;D
nice pcb layout, are you actually going to make a pcb out of it?
when you say muc do you mean mcu?
and you should really give eagle a go, its great and only took me about a day to learn!
Howdy

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2009, 03:24:25 AM »
hey roshan.r24! welcome to the forum ;D
nice pcb layout, are you actually going to make a pcb out of it?
Thanks James ;D N yup ive already made a PCB out of it. Just found it a lil neater than using a perf board as in the tutorial.

when you say muc do you mean mcu?

Yeah :P I did mean mcu when i said MuC. I was using Mu for micro since i havent found a way of using the symbol for it.

and you should really give eagle a go, its great and only took me about a day to learn!

Ill surely give it a try. ive been thinking its a very complicated program to use all this while.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2009, 04:43:37 AM »
you cant just make a pcb then not upload any pics :P i demand some!
Yeah :P I did mean mcu when i said MuC. I was using Mu for micro since i havent found a way of using the symbol for it.
in most cases, people on this forum either use "uc", "mcu" or that weird symbol that i have yet to find too.
Quote
Ill surely give it a try. ive been thinking its a very complicated program to use all this while.
yes, it looks scary, just read over a few tutorials like on instructables.com and you'll have it up in no time at all!
Howdy

Offline Finnik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 4
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2009, 04:56:56 AM »
That weird little symbol is the Greek letter "mu" (μ) and you're supposed to be able to make it using "Alt gr + M", but it doesn't seem to work for me.
Think outside the box... inside is to crowded.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2009, 05:06:56 AM »
yeah, that doesn't work for me either :-\
Howdy

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2009, 06:09:09 AM »
Quote
you cant just make a pcb then not upload any pics  i demand some!
Alrite ;D Here you go.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2009, 10:01:34 AM by roshan.r24 »

Offline wil.hamilton

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
  • Helpful? 6
  • rtfm
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2009, 06:29:01 AM »
very nice, did you etch it on your own? or did you send it out?
use the google.  it's your friend.

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2009, 06:35:59 AM »
Quote
very nice, did you etch it on your own? or did you send it out?
hey wil,
thanks :) Yup i etched the board myself. used ferric chloride.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2009, 04:05:33 AM »
that looks damn good, i know my etches never come out looking that good...
great job!
Howdy

Offline gaurav.p

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Helpful? 0
  • Go robotics
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2009, 07:49:03 AM »
hey roshan ,
gr8 wrk with  the board .welcome to the forums.


-gaurav
Big Things Come In Small Packages!!!

Offline blackbeard

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Helpful? 4
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2009, 09:05:28 AM »
Quote
very nice, did you etch it on your own? or did you send it out?
hey wil,
thanks :) Yup i etched the board myself. used ferric chloride.

i got a big leaky bottle of that stuff. nice pcb!
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2009, 09:37:01 AM »
Thanks a ton guys! ;D

Quote
i got a big leaky bottle of that stuff. nice pcb!
You ve got a solution eh? Thats nice. Ive gotta make it with FeCl crystals. Recently learnt a better and faster way of etching without having to make a container full of solution for it. Aint this stuff really messy? :P


Offline blackbeard

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Helpful? 4
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2009, 02:04:18 PM »
Thanks a ton guys! ;D

Quote
i got a big leaky bottle of that stuff. nice pcb!
You ve got a solution eh? Thats nice. Ive gotta make it with FeCl crystals. Recently learnt a better and faster way of etching without having to make a container full of solution for it. Aint this stuff really messy? :P



Ya i don't even know how it leaks and it's all over the place
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2009, 04:34:55 PM »
i use ammonium persulphate... its not messey and its cheaper than ferric chloride...
Howdy

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2009, 12:27:23 PM »
Hi,

Alrite ;D Here you go.

Just a tip... Next time around, try to avoid 90° turns, as they'll be prone to lifting off the carrier and will radiate more noise.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2009, 01:13:32 PM »
Quote
Just a tip... Next time around, try to avoid 90° turns, as they'll be prone to lifting off the carrier and will radiate more noise.

Thanks for the tip ;D Ill keep that in mind the next time i make a board.

Offline wil.hamilton

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
  • Helpful? 6
  • rtfm
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2009, 05:34:12 PM »

Just a tip... Next time around, try to avoid 90° turns, as they'll be prone to lifting off the carrier and will radiate more noise.


explains why every board i see has 45 deg bends
use the google.  it's your friend.

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #18 on: August 17, 2009, 06:02:09 AM »
I only use ferric chloride as i got given a bottle. But is really quite messy and is hard to clean up after.

@roshan.r24, great work, and i have to say that is the first pcb i have seen for the $50 robot board and i think it is great that some one has taken the time to design and make it. ;D

And i also had some trouble with eagle when i first designed PCB but in the end it has been a really handy tool, keep at it and you'll be greatful.

@Smash, how many etches do you get from one batch of ammonuim persulfate, i heard it is only one where as i can reuse the ferric for quite a few etches before i need to replace it.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #19 on: August 17, 2009, 06:06:46 AM »
i get heaps of etches... for about 50g of etchant i get approx 10-15 70x40mm boards done...
and when it starts taking longer you can just add some more powder to the mixture to keep it going!
Howdy

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2009, 06:18:57 AM »
Quote
@roshan.r24, great work, and i have to say that is the first pcb i have seen for the $50 robot board and i think it is great that some one has taken the time to design and make it.

And i also had some trouble with eagle when i first designed PCB but in the end it has been a really handy tool, keep at it and you'll be greatful.

Thanks ;D yup i havent seen too many layouts for this either. N yea ill start reading up some eagle tutorials. hopefully i should be able to start using it soon.

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #21 on: August 17, 2009, 04:32:12 PM »
smash, 10-15 etches that is heaps good, i now know i am deffinetly changing to ammonium persulfate ;D

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2009, 05:26:03 PM »
yeah, i know! im so glad my electronics teacher told me about it before i went to dick smith that day ;D
Howdy

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,121
  • Helpful? 108
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #23 on: August 17, 2009, 05:48:34 PM »
and i have to say that is the first pcb i have seen for the $50 robot board and i think it is great that some one has taken the time to design and make it. ;D



Hmm obviously missed http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/191

But well done

Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #24 on: August 19, 2009, 06:21:59 AM »
I wanted to know:
Ive got a 6V, 1800mAh battery. what battery charger can i buy for it? What ratings should it have?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #25 on: August 19, 2009, 06:40:53 AM »
so sorry webbot, i have been over the members tutorials so many times where was you tut hiding

sorry i can't help with the battery charger at the moment roshan.r24

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #26 on: August 19, 2009, 04:00:34 PM »
I wanted to know:
Ive got a 6V, 1800mAh battery. what battery charger can i buy for it? What ratings should it have?
any 6v charger will do, respectively ni-mh, ni-cad, li-on etc...
what is your battery? ni-cad or ni-mh or other?
Howdy

Offline roshan.r24Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot PCB layout
« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2009, 10:32:56 PM »
Quote
any 6v charger will do, respectively ni-mh, ni-cad, li-on etc...
what is your battery? ni-cad or ni-mh or other?

Mine is NiMH. What current rating should i be using? Will 900mA be dangerous?

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list